On Purpose

Life matters, your life matters. Each one of us is here for a reason. It is bigger than us, and we do have a significant part in life that makes a difference!

 

I was once again reminded of the reality of existing on purpose as I made my annual trip up to Hume Lake (Hume is a beautiful lake nestled in the Sequoia National Forest about an hour up the mountain from Fresno, California, Hume.org ). There is a Christian camp there, and I have been visiting this camp at least once a year since 1976 (and have not yet missed a year!). Hume Lake has been a place where I have made significant life/spiritual decisions, but also a place where every year, as I jog around the lake, I stop and thank God for sparing my life and reminding me He still has me around for a purpose.

 

The event that caused me to pause and reflect was a near death experience I had as I made my way around the back of the lake near the ‘water-restrainer’ (aka dam, but it’s a Christian camp, so they choose to call it a ‘water-restrainer’). It was springtime and the lake was at full capacity, so water was frequently being released from the restrainer. The normal rugged path over the rocks was wet and slippery as the water gushed with great force down into Kings Canyon. At that time, there was not a footbridge as there is now, so people crossed over the gushing water at their own risk. I took the risk and as my friend leapt over the water, landing safely on the other side, it was my turn. It was not a huge jump, so I did not think much of it as I leapt over the over the rocks and rushing water. I still don’t exactly know what happened. I think I must have started my jump on a slippery part of the rock, for I only made it halfway, and fast moving water grabbed me and sucked me completely under the water. The next thing I knew was I was grasping the sides of small pool and hoisting myself out of the water. I was in a bit of shock because the water was freezing. Nothing was broken or damaged, but my fingers were bleeding from digging into the rock so that the current would not take me further down the mountain.

 

As I made my way back to camp, I started to realize all that could have happened. I could have broken some bones, or maybe my back, because the water was flowing as fast as a fire hydrant fully open. I could have not popped back up, as the flow of water was constant. I could have drowned. My wife could have to raise our kids by herself. The job I loved so much as a pastor to students would have ended. No more fulfillment of dreams, nor would I have a significant role in anything anymore. My purpose in life would have ended.

 

Yet, my life did not end that day, and God made it clear He has me around for a purpose. There are significant and important actions, relationships, interactions, and use of the talents He has given me which still need to be used. And if you are reading this, you do too! God has you around on purpose! There are people He wants you to bless. There are others He has you run into so you would be the one to encourage them, affirm them, compliment them, and smile at them. There are abilities He has given you to use for the betterment of your business, school, office, and community. There is a family He had you be born into so you might help, serve, and care for them. You are here on purpose!

Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

See, God has plans for us, significant plans, important plans. We are here on purpose. Now sure, we may not win the Nobel Prize or receive a medal of honor, but we may be that one interaction with another that sets them on a good path. The key is to seek God.

Matthew 6:33 But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well

To seek God is to learn of Him and align life His way. He did create you (see Psalm 139:13-17) on purpose. You were not an accident or a mistake. You are a very much loved person who has purpose. The key is to seek to discover that purpose and this involves a trust in God.

Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to Him, and He will make your paths straight.

The idea of ‘making our paths straight’ is to lead us through life, for we were created for a purpose.

 

Church is a great place to grow in our understanding of God and our purpose. If you don’t already have a church you attend regularly, we would like to invite you to Cypress Church or any of our branch churches. Our website has all the information you would need www.cypresschurch.net . We would love to connect with you.

 

Seeking to live out God’s purpose on my life along with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

