Trust Moves!

Everything in me wanted to turn right, but the GPS said the fastest way was to turn left, in the opposite direction of where I was heading. What should I do? Which voice should I listen to? The voice in my head or the voice of the GPS? I was faced with an issue of trust, a trust move. Would I take the risk to trust in this app on a phone that boasted of creating the fastest route, or would I take the more comfortable risk of trusting in my own thoughts? What would be my trust move?

 

When it comes down to the decisions of life, the directions or choices to make, we are faced with the same dilemma. Will we take the risk to listen to proven experts or go with our own thoughts? Both take an element of trust. I know with driving in Los Angles traffic, I do have a working knowledge of what freeways to take and what lanes seem to be the fastest, yet I have limited knowledge of what might be ahead; like traffic density, accidents, police activity (all of which are a regular part of LA traffic). So there I was, ready to turn onto the congested freeway when the app suggested a new route that would take me on a detour, yet bring me to my destination faster. This app calculated this new route because it monitored all the issues that slow cars down and found a faster way.

 

Don’t you wish there was an app like this for life? Well, in a way there is!! The Bible put it this way…

Proverbs 3:5-7  5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding.  6 In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make straight your paths.  7 Be not wise in your own eyes; fear the LORD, and turn away from evil.  

God has a way and plan for us.

Jeremiah 29:11  For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for wholeness and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

To engage that plan is to trust in Him. To trust in God is to seek Him.

Jeremiah 29:12-13   12 Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you.  13 You will seek me and find me. When you seek me with all your heart,           

For some, to call on God seems a little beyond their comfort. For others, to talk/pray to God seems as natural as talking to an old friend. Either way, it takes effort and trust to investigate God’s insights. The big question is, will you? And will you trust in what God says? The Bible does say…

Nahum 1:7 The LORD is good, a stronghold in the day of trouble; He knows those who take refuge in Him.

I chose to trust in that driving app and avoided miles of major slow-downs. I have also chosen to trust in the Lord, to soak in His wisdom from the Bible, and it has made an amazing difference. Sure, my life has ups and downs; medical issues, family struggles, death, disappointment, and more. But even with these rough roads, following God’s wisdom brings guidance, comfort, and even joy. As well, trusting in God has brought fulfillment and a deep satisfaction in life. What about you? Who are you trusting in to navigate life?

Church is an amazing place to understand God and grow in our trust of Him. If you do not already attend a church, we would love to invite you to Cypress Church or one or our branch churches. Our web site has all the information for all our campuses: www.cypresschurch.net . We would greatly enjoy the opportunity to journey with you through all of life’s travels.

Seeking to make some trust moves along with you,

Mike

 

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

