Let’s Have Some Fun!

“Come on Trevor we are trying to take this picture, settle down!” Trevor’s dad reached for Trevor’s shoulder and with a firm grip pulling his son to his side. Trevor did stand there but began to make funny faces and dramatic poses as grandma, who was taking the photo, laughed. Trevor’s mom chimed in, “Trevor, will you calm down?!.” The other two kids were falling in line, yet just standing there with more tired and blank stares on their face. Grandma retorted, come on everyone smile, look like you are having fun like Trevor. Trevor took that as a cue to run, or I think he was pretending to fly, around the family yelling out, “Wheeeeee!” Mom rolled her eyes. Dad looked exasperated. The other two kids went back to their blank stares. Grandma jumped in and started to chase Trevor with a big smile saying “I’m going to get you.” Dad threw up his hands. Grandma caught Trevor and with a few tickles and a whisper placed him next to his. Grandma went back to her spot and snapped the photo. She handed the camera to the dad and with a wink said, “Let’s have some fun like Trevor!”

 

Kristi (my wife) and I observed this little scene as we were out on one of our date nights. To me it was a little vignette of life and I found myself identifying with most every family member. Life at times is exasperating with the pressures of deadlines, troubles, difficulties, and responsibilities. Life can also be that eye-rolling frustration of not working out as planned. As well, life can suck the life right out of you and we can be numbed and dazed at it all. However, there is Trevor and Grandma! They both seem to find the fun in it all and enjoy the moment.

 

This whole scene reminded me of my grandfather who taught me the art of having fun, even in the midst of difficulty. More than once he came to my rescue as I faced the hardship of growing up in an alcoholic family. As my dad would set off on one of his alcoholic induced rants, my amazing grandfather would bring in some funny story, some funny dance, or some funny faces and the tense atmosphere would change to laughter and joy. I wanted to be just like my grandfather. Now it took me a bit to learn the appropriate time to bring in some fun (I got into a lot of trouble being the class clown, but that is another story), and I am continuing to learn, but fun is an important part of life.

 

God wants us to have some fun.

Ecclesiastes 2:24 There is nothing better for a person than that he should eat and drink and find enjoyment in his toil. This also, I saw, is from the hand of God,

Ecclesiastes 3:12-13  12 I perceived that there is nothing better for them than to be joyful and to do good as long as they live;  13 also that everyone should eat and drink and take pleasure in all his toil – this is God’s gift to man.

.Now, timing is important.

Ecclesiastes 3:1, 4  For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven:  4 a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;

It is all too easy to never plan for fun. When was the last time you really laughed? I mean that belly, I’m going to wet my pants laughter where you start to cry. When was the last time you really had fun? Yes we are all allowed to have fun. We just need to make time for it. Now of course our fun can’t be at the expense of others or that is hurtful or damaging. We need to enjoy it as a gift from God.

1 Corinthians 10:31 So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.

 

So have some fun!

Proverbs 17:22  A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.

Ecclesiastes 8:15  And I commend joy, for man has nothing better under the sun but to eat and drink and be joyful, for this will go with him in his toil through the days of his life that God has given him under the sun.

 

Church can be a fun place to be and learn the fun life God has for us. I know our church is a place like that and especially around Easter time.  We have a wonderful Easter week planned with special services on Palm Sunday, Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, and Easter Sunday. Our web site has all the information for all our campuses: www.cypresschurch.net . We would love for you to join in on our fun.

 

Seeking to have some fun in life along with you,

 

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

