Be All There!

One of my most favorite moments is spending time with my grandsons (I have 3!). They each are so unique, and fun, and playful, and full of life lessons for me! Like the other day I was playing with one of them as we were trying build one of those wooden train tracks with interconnecting rail lines. I was showing him and explaining to him the fun of how they fit together and how the train moves on the track, yet he found his fun in using the straight piece of track as a sword and the curved piece as a phone. Nonetheless, we were playing and chatting (his words are not yet all fully formed, but he thinks they are and with a little imagination you can figure out what he is saying).

Well after a while, he flitted off to some blocks and as I sat there watching this little guy, continuing the conversation, something happened that pulled me out of my fun play-interaction with my grandson. It was not some big sound of alarm or startling incident. It was not even another person entering the room or dog barking. What it was, was an all too familiar sound that tends to divert my attention and move me to a conditioned response. It was the buzz that I had just received an email or text on my cell phone. So, without even thinking, I automatically opened up my portal to cyber interconnectivity (aka my cell phone) and I was captivated. I started viewing texts, emails, jumped on to Instagram and Facebook, and there I was, wide-eyed, staring at the little screen of my phone, taken from being all there with my precious grandson.

Well, he had noticed I had stopped my engaging banter as he played, and unbeknownst to me he was heading back to me with book in hand. Fully engulfed in whatever was happening on my phone I barley heard, “Papa”, “Paaa-pa”, “PAPA!” Just as he slowly took the phone out my hands, snuggled into my lap, and replaced my phone for a book, all this with a pleasant smile on his little face.

At that moment, I got it. I need to be all there! Sure it’s fun to multitask and yes, anything I can do to decrease my email inbox is a joy, but a friend once challenged me with this saying, “Where ever you are, be all there!” Honestly, that is tough for me, yet it is so needed, especially these days where there are so many distractions. Sure, conversations get awkward with long pauses to figure out what to say, yet we all need to work through those to learn how to communicate. Yes, we want to be productive, yet there are times when we really just need to play, enjoy a sunset, smell the flowers, and soak in the unique personality of another…or play undistracted with your grandson!

Jesus was/is a great example of being all there. In one incidence He was tired from a long journey and took a rest as the disciples went off to gather some supplies. A woman came by, and though it would have been out of the ordinary to engage her in a conversation in that culture, on that day, Jesus initiated an interaction. You can read about it in the Bible in John 4:4-29 (but read the whole chapter to see the rest of the story). Jesus’ interaction gave this woman hope for the life she thirsted for, yet had not found.

John 4:14 but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty forever. The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

Another interaction where Jesus was ‘all there’ was in Luke 18:35-43, where Jesus was walking towards the city of Jericho and as the crowd passed by, a blind man called out to Jesus. Jesus could have easily kept walking, but He stopped and healed the man!

Luke 18:41-42 41 “What do you want me to do for you?” He said, “Lord, let me recover my sight.” 42 And Jesus said to him, “Recover your sight; your faith has made you well.”

There are many stories in the Bible of Jesus being all there as He interacted with others. I know I could do a better job at that. How about you?

Church can be a great place to learn of Jesus and behold Him. If you are not already connected to a church, we would like to invite you to Cypress Church or one of our branch churches in either Los Alamitos or Garden Grove this week. Our website has all the information you would need. www.cypresschurch.net . We would love for you to join us.

Being all there is an important life lesson. It can be life changing! Why not give it a try…be all there, where ever you are.

Seeking to be all there along with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

