Up?!

I had the complete joy today to watch one of my grandsons. We had a blast…ate some breakfast, some banana, raspberries, and a roll. He was not that hungry because he was not feeling that great. We played with some trains, read some books, and watched our dog from the family room window. You know, fun kid stuff. And all the while, he was chattering away in part understandable words mixed with some unknown language that makes perfect sense to him, thinking that I am comprehending everything that he is saying! We also watched “Finding Nemo”, one of his favorite movies, along with the movie “Frozen.” As he was watching, and a few times throughout the morning, he would come running up to me, or move closer to me, and while raising his hands toward the ceiling would look me in the eye and say “up” in a questioning kind of tone.

Of course, I stopped whatever I was doing and scooped him up in my arms as he put his arms around my neck and nestled his head on my shoulder. I could tell he just wanted some closer, more focused attention with a bit of comfort from whatever he was feeling. A few times I rocked him, or held him tight, or sang to him, or just whispered into his ear, “Papa loves you!” He rested a moment, then squirmed to get down and went on his way.

As I thought about his little ‘up’ moments, I was so glad I could be someone who was available to extend some comfort, share some love, and whisper a few encouraging words. It inspired me to make a few calls to a few people who I knew could use an ‘up’ moment themselves. We chatted on the phone, I listened to what was going on in their life, and shared a prayer with them. Both of us were encouraged, built up by the moment.

The Bible has a lot to say about sharing ‘up’ moments.
1 Thessalonians 5:11 Therefore encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing.
Hebrews 10:23-25 23 Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for he who promised is faithful. 24 And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, 25 not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near.
1 Peter 4:8-10 8 Above all, keep loving one another earnestly, since love covers a multitude of sins. 9 Show hospitality to one another without grumbling. 10 As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace:
Ephesians 4:29 Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.

It’s difficult to be self-focused when you are seeking to encourage another, build up another, stir up another, being hospitable to another, serve another, or love another. Yet too much we get so busy or consumed with our desires we miss an opportunity to share in an ‘up’ moment. Actually, to confess, there was one moment while my grandson was watching the movie I turned to work on my computer and was so engrossed in what I was doing I did not realize he was right beside me, looking at me, asking for an ‘up.’ I don’t want to miss those ‘up’ moments for they are an ‘up’ to me too!

Jesus has also let us all know He is available for an ‘up’ moment.
Matthew 11:28 Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.
Psalm 55:22 Cast your burden on the LORD, and he will sustain you; he will never permit the righteous to be moved.
1 Peter 5:7  casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.

The key is to go to Him and ask. He wants us to experience His love, grace, mercy, and kindness. Will you? It could be just what you need.

A great place to experience an ‘up’ moment with God is at church. Yes, you can experience God anywhere, but at church we talk about how amazing and wonderful God is, and it’s a great place to enjoy an ‘up’ moment. If you are not already connected to a church, we would like to invite you to Cypress Church or one of our branch churches in either Los Alamitos or Garden Grove this week. Our website has all the information you would need. www.cypresschurch.net . We are actually just starting a Bible teaching series about God called “Behold! Grasping the Intangible God”. I think you might enjoy it.

It seems to me people these days could use more ‘up’ moments. Maybe you could be one of those who blesses others by being available. You might even find your ‘up’ moment!

Seeking to share ‘up’ moments along with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

