Jesus, Just Jesus

I was at the gym this morning doing my usual work out, listening to my ipod and a familiar Christian song came on. It was a song that is in the normal, random, rotation of songs but for the last few days has been automatically worked into my play list. I heard it yesterday, the day before, I’m sure I heard it a few days ago, and now today. But today, instead of just letting the song be background music to drown out the huffing and puffing of my pathetic work out, the words intrigued me. They resonated deep within me and brought life to my soul. I even kept repeating the song as the truths of Jesus felt like a refreshing drink on a hot day…and then I got it, an answer that satisfies all of life’s deep issues; significance, hope, help, love, belonging, rest, peace, despair, and so much more.

As I listened, Biblical truths were brought to my mind and I was reminded once again that Jesus, just Jesus, is the answer! Jesus communicated it so clearly…
John 14:6 Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.

As we grasp and behold the truth (this is what it means to believe) that Jesus is to be our highest affection, we are given direction through the power of His Holy Spirit. As we delight ourselves in the LORD, we are guided on the true life-path we were created to take. It’s Jesus, just Jesus, who is the way. Is He?

Romans 10:9 … if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved.
Jesus is the all sufficient Savior who saves us completely from all our sin as we put our trust/belief in Him! It’s Jesus, just Jesus, who saves us and grows us, not our actions or good works. Is it just Jesus?

Matthew 28:18 And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to Me.”
Jesus is the ultimate authority in life who alone, in His holiness and sovereignty, is trustworthy to follow. Therefore, He is to obeyed unwaveringly, yielded to immediately, submitted to sacrificially, and followed unashamedly. Jesus, just Jesus, is to be the loudest and most influential voice and authority in our lives. Is He?

Romans 8:1 There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.
Jesus’ death satisfies God’s righteous wrath towards sin and bridges the gap forged by sin (Isaiah 59:2). Therefore there is now no blame, no disapproval, no judgment, and no guilty verdict. We are acquitted, deemed innocent, cleared of all charges, freed by Jesus, just Jesus! There is no other way, no moral actions, no good works, no efforts on our own…its Jesus, just Jesus!! It is both comforting and fills us with awe… we are free from our inborn depravity. Are you?

Philippians 4:19 And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.
Jesus is the quenching water to our thirsty needs. Only He will satisfy the deep longing of our inner being if we believe, if we trust in His truth. For as we believe, we are being transformed by the Holy Spirit.

Ephesians 3:16-19 16 that according to the riches of His glory He may grant you to be strengthened with power through His Spirit in your inner being, 17 so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith – that you, being rooted and grounded in love, 18 may have strength to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, 19 and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.
That fullness of God is the abundant life Jesus provides as we believe (John 10:10). So maybe a good question to grapple with is do you really believe in Jesus, just Jesus? Or as that song proclaims…in Christ alone (“In Christ Alone” Words and Music by Keith Getty & Stuart Townend Copyright © 2001 Kingsway Thankyou Music)

In Christ alone my hope is found; He is my light, my strength, my song;
This cornerstone, this solid ground, Firm through the fiercest drought and storm.
What heights of love, what depths of peace, When fears are stilled, when strivings cease!
My comforter, my all in all—Here in the love of Christ I stand.

If you want to listen to a very inspiring version of the song click here. It’s Jesus, just Jesus.

Seeking to put my full faith in Jesus, just Jesus, with you,

Mike
PS Cypress Church and our Branch churches are all about Jesus, just Jesus. If you would like visit our church our listen to our sermons on line check out our website for more information: www.cypresschurch.net

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

