An Amazing Adventure

One of my last activities of 2014 was to go see the last of the movies made from JRR Tolkien’s book, the Hobbit. I know there have been mixed reviews, but I liked it. The book is about a creature, a Hobbit, named Bilbo Baggins. The book is fantastic as Tolkien weaves spiritual and Biblical truths into his story (he does the same in the famous Lord of the Rings novels). These truths are not written in like a Bible study or some ‘how to’ writing, nor are they always obvious, but if you search for them, great illustrations arise.

One such example is of us Christians who, like Hobbits, tend to want to settle in the comforts of our Hobbit-like faith admiring, protecting, and building a life of self-comfort rather than the risky adventure of the life God has for us. However, this life God has for us is not always safe, nor is it easy, nor will it be without hardship, effort or pain. Yet, this life God created us to live can be amazing, thrilling, and one where we truly thrive. For living life God’s way is worth it, as we were created for this adventure called life.

The question is, will you take that step out your front door and live God’s amazing adventure?

As I, too, long for God’s amazing adventure for this new year of 2015, these thoughts and Bible verses came to mind…maybe they will encourage you as they did me…

Jeremiah 29:11-13 11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for wholeness and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. 12 Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. 13 You will seek me and find me. When you seek me with all your heart,

Yes, God has plans; amazing plan, plans of adventure and trial, plans of hope and helpful hard times, plans of training and strength building in temptation, plans of victories and lesson-learning defeats, of high mountain top moments and introspective deep valleys of despair…yet, all guided by Jesus.
Matthew 28:20 …And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”

Isaiah 41:9-10 9 you whom I took from the ends of the earth, and called from its farthest corners, saying to you, “You are my servant, I have chosen you and not cast you off”; 10 fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

See, this is going to be an amazing year…a year of an incredible amazing adventure with all its experience. On this journey, I want to stick close to The Lord so that in all that I walk through He will be glorified and I will grow. I want to know God; Father, Son, and a Holy Spirit more and know more how to live life His way, so I may walk in a manner worthy of the gospel as Philippians 1:27 says.

2 Peter 3:18 But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be the glory both now and to the day of eternity. Amen.

Ecclesiastes 12:13 The end of the matter; all has been heard. Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man.

2015 is going to be an amazing adventure. Let’s take the risk and live it out. Will you join me?

Seeking to live out God’s amazing adventure with you,

Mike

PS Learning about Jesus and how He wants us to live is vital to experiencing God’s amazing adventure. This is why we have just started a new teaching series at our all church campuses. It is called ‘In the Dust of the Rabbi.” We are continuing our study of the Bible book of Matthew as we learn about our Rabbi Jesus and how we can follow His example. To listen in or join us please check our web site www.cypresschurch.net, it could be just what you need to make this year remarkable.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

