Beholding Hope

Yesterday was an amazing day. It started with a call from my son-in-law Jericho. They were in the hospital and Jessika (our daughter) was at five centimeters! We rapidly got ready, informed the soon-to-be aunts and uncles and we all converged to enjoy this adventure. Jess was amazing, dealing with the pain (I made my exit early. It was hard to watch my daughter in pain and there was nothing I could do or should do about it, but it was both beautiful and difficult to watch. So the waiting room was a good place to pray and anticipate our first grandchild), Jericho was an outstanding coach, Kristi was a super co-coach…and 5 hours later little Moses Michael McKay Almiranez was born. Wow!

As soon as I got the ‘all clear’, I could come meet my grandson. It was instant and overwhelming love and joy…and hope. Now I know ‘hope’ seems a bit odd at this moment, so let me explain. As I held this incredible bundle, my thoughts went to the joy he would bring his parents as he grew, the fun we would have on those special Papa-times, the people he would affect, the love, kindness, help, and laughter he would bring like his dad and mom do, the potential service to the Lord he could do, and the way God would equip him to be a living example of Jesus…maybe he would reflect the great Biblical Moses in leadership and friendship with God. Thinking all of this gave me hope; hope in what he could be, hope in the potential, hope in the possibilities.

As I pondered this, I was reminded of Simeon from Luke 2:25-35, a righteous and devout old man who had the awesome experience to hold baby Jesus. He knew who Jesus was at that time and his prayer expresses the Hope that he was holding. A hope we all can behold!
KJV John 1:14 And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth.
That ‘Word’ is Jesus and in Him is great hope. Hope because…

We are loved
Jeremiah 31:3 the LORD appeared to him from far away. I have loved you with an everlasting love; therefore I have continued my faithfulness to you.

We are known and cared for

Psalm 139:1-5 You have searched me and known me! 2 You know when I sit down and when I rise up; You discern my thoughts from afar. 3 You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways. 4 Even before a word is on my tongue, behold, O LORD, You know it altogether. 5 You hem me in, behind and before, and lay Your hand upon me.

Picture that ‘hem me in…’ as being carefully cupped in the hands of the Lord as if you were holding a fragile butterfly. You are precious to God and His loving hands are protecting you!

We are not abandoned
Joshua 1:9 Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.”

We are coached to bring out our best
Philippians 1:6 And I am sure of this, that He who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus
Christ.

We are guided into the best way for us
Proverbs 3:5-7 5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. 6 In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make straight your paths. 7 Be not wise in your own eyes; fear the LORD, and turn away from evil.

Wow that’s a lot to behold! But how do we behold? 3 ways…
1 John 1:1 That which was from the beginning, which we have heard, which we have seen with our eyes, which we looked upon and have touched with our hands, concerning the word of life (Jesus).
To hear about Jesus and His way of life
To see Jesus’ example and see how others are so wonderfully affected by Him.
To actively get hands-on with living life Jesus’ way.

To hear, see, and touch is to behold Jesus, to behold hope. Will you behold hope today?

Seeking to behold Jesus with you,
Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

