Who Are You Listening To?

As a pastor I have the privilege and honor to share time with people and walk with them through the ups and downs of life. On many occasions I have sat with amazing, phenomenal, gifted people. They are world changers, change agents, difference makers , catalysts, and people so full of potential that I can’t help but get excited at all that God could do in them and through them. They have mind-blowing ideas, incredible abilities, and you can see that small spark of passion, drive, and determination smoldering with in them as they share their dreams and hopes and how they would like life to be.

Yet as we talk they express how lame, dumb, ineffective, and stupid they feel. They speak of how their dreams and desires and even hopes are just that, empty dreams, silly desire, and false hopes that they certainly can’t fulfill. They talk of how the messages they hear must be right…they will never amount to much of anything. But the reality is those messages are far from the truth and unfortunately they have been listening to the wrong messages.

The truth is we are beautifully handcrafted by God…

Psalm 139:13-15 13 For You (God) formed my inward parts; You knitted me together in my mother’s womb. 14 I praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.1 Wonderful are Your works; my soul knows it very well. 15 My frame was not hidden from You, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
We are intricately designed by the Master Craftsman who created the heaven and the earth, woven together with love and purpose. Yes, with love, and an intensity of love that goes far beyond what we can comprehend.
Jeremiah 31:3 … I (God) have loved you with an everlasting love; therefore I have continued my faithfulness to you.
Zephaniah 3:17 The LORD your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; He will rejoice over you with gladness; He will quiet you by His love; He will exult over you with loud singing.
Psalm 86:15 But you, O Lord, are a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness.

These are but a few of the many true and absolutely accurate sincere messages of God’s love for us. Messages we should listen to above the negative noise out in our world today. Who are you listening to?

Not only this, the fact is…
1 Peter 2:9-10 9 But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of Him who called you out of darkness into His marvelous light. 10 Once you were not a people, but now you are God’s people; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy.

As well we have been given gifts and abilities described in Romans 12 and 1 Corinthians 12. These verses don’t lie, they aren’t trying to just say nice things to make you feel better…they are The Truth! So, who are you listening to?

I know I struggle with who I listen to. So many times I buy into the whispers of the enemy that seeks to pull my attention away from the truth of God’s Word and believe I am a loser, lame, unloved, worthless, and therefore should stop trying, give up, and just do nothing. But then God brings into my life a thought, a kind word, an insight that turns my ears back to the truth of God’s Word.

There was a movie that came out a while back called “The Help.” This movie is about the 1960s and back woman who spent their lives caring for prominent southern families. There was one scene I loved: a little girl, whose mom never really gave her the truth of God, was blessed with a care-giver who kept reminding her, “You is kind, you is smart, you is important,” (click here to see the scene).

So who are you listening to? My encouragement to you today is to listen to your loving Lord…and not just today but every day. He made you, He knows you, He created you special, wonderful, full of potential, useful, He made you to be kind, He gave you a wonderful mind, you are smart, and you of such value you to Him and our world He had His Son die so you might live and live life to its fullest John 10:10. Listen to God, listen to His Word.

Seeking to listen to the truth along with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

