Willing to Learn

I don’t know what it is, but I like to cook, not so much follow a recipe, but be creative in my culinary adventures. So you can find me out on the BBQ trying some new way to grill meat or dabbling in creating a new sauce, concocting never heard of marinades, or crafting unique rubs with exotic spices. I have also ventured into the kitchen to try my hand at all sorts of dishes and desserts, well mostly desserts, well mainly desserts…ok pretty much just desserts!

Now, like I said, I don’t follow a recipe to the letter. I used to just go with my gut or whatever seemed right to me or how I felt, but something in me changed and I saw the value of the recipe. So now I do follow a recipe, yet with a bit my own flare. See, for some reason when I started cooking I felt stifled using someone else’s formula, process, technique, or method. I actually felt with my creative spirit, my basic understanding of cooking (in Jr. High I was selected with a bunch of my friends to take an experimental class called ‘Bachelor Arts’ it was a blast and we cooked up some awesome meals!), and my love for food gave me all I need to whip up any gastronomical delight.

So I ventured on and did fairly well, but time and time again I would have a disaster; the sauce ruined the meat, the pastry did not rise, the filling was too runny, the combination tasted awful. Then looking back at the recipe or hearing an explanation from a cooking show I realized that there is a need to follow a tried and tested formula. See, there are reasons to doing the process in the way given; adding the vanilla at the right time so as the alcohol does not break down essential chemical reactions, folding in the mixture rather than an electric mixer so the outcome had body, browning the meat first to lock in flavors, cooking the crust so it does not come out soggy. There is a reason beyond my knowledge in the process and ingredients to produce something wonderful.

The truth is I was being prideful, thinking that I knew more than the master chefs and culinary schools that have created such wonderful dishes and meals. So I have changed. I now follow a recipe. Sure I make it my own, but I first check to see if my new ingredient or step will not have an adverse effect on the outcome. I have become more willing to learn.

Being willing to learn is a key ingredient in life! Too much today people are trying to follow their own recipe, their own way of life, a life mostly centered around them…and it’s not working. These ‘I’m going to do it my way’ people want relationships; friends, family, and even their marriages to be their way, centered around them and those relationships either end tragically or are sadly at a survival level. In the same way these ‘No one’s going to tell me what to do’ people keep pushing their own way at work and they are losing their jobs.

This being willing to learn is a key trait taught by God, straight from the Bible:

1 Peter 5:5 Likewise, you who are younger, be subject to the elders. Clothe yourselves, all of you, with humility toward one another, for “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.”

Proverbs 13:18 Poverty and disgrace come to him who ignores instruction, but whoever heeds reproof is honored.

Proverbs 12:1 Whoever loves discipline loves knowledge, but he who hates reproof is stupid.

Proverbs 9:9 Give instruction to a wise man, and he will be still wiser; teach a righteous man, and he will increase in learning.

We are to take on a humble attitude and being willing to learn from others. There is something we can learn from every person and every situation. As well we should be willing to humbly share teach and instruct others.

1 Thessalonians 5:14 And we urge you, brothers, admonish the idle, encourage the fainthearted, help the weak, be patient with them all.

This learn and teaching is what the Bible calls discipleship…something that we are all called to be involved in (See Matthew 28:19-20, 2 Timothy 2:2).

So how are you in this area of being willing to learn? I know my bent is to not look at the recipes, but God has and is changing me. What about you?

Seeking to cook up a life using God’s Recipes with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

