Good Job

I was in a store the other day looking for some needed items, realizing I needed some help, I asked an employee walking by. They seemed a bit put off that I would stop them. Sensing their irritation, I smiled and asked if they could help me find my items. They pointed up and said look at the signs you can find the aisles…and walked off! I said thank you as I once again read their name tag that said ‘Ask me, I can help!’ And hearing them mutter something like I hate my job.

Being I already tried finding my items myself, I tried again. The conversation was quite different this time. I asked for help and the response was like cool drink on a hot day, this new employee said, “Absolutely, let me show you where they are.” They also asked questions that helped me change my plans to something better and cheaper. After gathering my things I thanked this helpful employee and they responded with a, “It was my pleasure, I really like helping people with their projects, I love my job.”

What a contrast and what a difference it makes when someone loves their job. Some have chosen to see their job as a necessary evil and some have made the choice to see their work as a way to do some good in this world. It is true that God created us to work. He Himself is a worker, just read Genesis chapter 1 and God set us up to work in this world…

Genesis 1:28 God blessed them and said to them, “Be fruitful and increase in number; fill the earth and subdue it. Rule over the fish of the sea and the birds of the air and over every living creature that moves on the ground.”

Genesis 2:15 The LORD God took the man and put him in the Garden of Eden to work it and take care of it.

God gave us the task of working in community so we flourish and thrive (being fruitful) as well as using the resources around us for the common good (to subdue), and doing the difficult task owning the responsibilities of our corner of life (ruling) with diligence, effort, and initiative (work) and attentiveness (care).

Now this was before sin entered the world and messed up work. Sin actually broke work and made work toilsome Read Genesis 3:17-19. So work is not the result of sin…work is actually a good thing. Work is what we were created for so we should choose to do a good job and do our best at whatever job we have.

Colossians 3:17 And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

Colossians 3:23 Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men,

For us followers of Jesus, to do a good job is also to act good.

Matthew 22:37-39 37 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’

It’s setting our affections on God, loving Him more than anything. It’s loving people by being kind, compassionate, caring, and concerned.

To do a good job is also to be the good at work. To let the character of Christ in us be experienced by those who we work around. That our co-workers and people we encounter experience love, mercy, grace, and a servant’s heart.

1 Peter 2:21 To this you were called, because Christ suffered for you, leaving you an example, that you should follow in his steps.

We are to do a good job, act good, and be the good at work. Wow! What a difference it could make if this was the attitude we went to work with.

Seeking to do a good Job with you,

Mike

PS: Speaking of work we are starting a new Sunday teaching series at both our campuses called ‘iWork: Enjoying Work Redeemed by Jesus.’ We would love for you to join us. See our Website for details http://www.cypresschurch.net & http://www.thebranchlosalnet

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

