Just Jesus!?!

The other night I enjoyed one of those truly satisfying meals that was not only very nutritious with a healthy balance of the appropriate food groups and natural vitamins and mineral our body needs, but it tasted a-m-a-zz-ing!! Yet there was more! The beverages were complementary and enhanced the meal perfectly, the plating of the meal just made your mouth water, and there was even dessert, not too decadent, but still healthy, and yes there was chocolate (is it really dessert if it’s not chocolate?).

This dining experience was both satiating and adequate. My hunger was fulfilled and I have to say I was very content. It was that push-your-chair-back and smile type of content because it was not only tasty and good, but good for me and enough. There was no feeling of being ‘stuffed’, or indigestion or heartburn from over eating, or pushing the limits with spices and sauces, nor the guilt or concern that I was hurting my body. No, I was pleased, comfortable, satisfied, and content….until ‘it’ happened!

I rounded the corner to put my dishes in the sink and there ‘it’ was. Just seeing the box made me salivate, for I knew that box contained 12 irresistible disks of pure joy. These round jewels, each with their centers removed, were covered with the glaze of heaven. I opened the box and my eyes widened as the aroma of Krispy Kreme glazed donuts filled my nostrils (just pause here and soak in the scene). Their glorious fragrance sent a beautiful feeling all over me and I think it resulted in a slight tear of joy that formed in my left eye. All of the sudden those feeling of contentment and satisfaction were gone and I was hungry, I felt want, no NEED! That perfect meal was no longer just enough. I felt like I wanted more…I wanted a Krispy Kreme donut …or four!

As I was contemplating how I could want this after experiencing such a satisfying meal, I thought about how this is a lot like the way we treat Jesus. Jesus says…

Matthew 11:28-30 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Jesus says, come to Me, come to faith in Me and you will find satisfaction for life. Life lived Jesus’ way or under His yoke is a life that is satisfying, and it is where true life is found.

1 John 5:12 He who has the Son has life; he who does not have the Son of God does not have life.

This life found in taking in Jesus or finding our satisfaction in just Jesus, seeing Him as our ultimate affection is where true life is found…the best life, the supreme life, life as it was meant to be, life to the max…the abundant life.

John 10:10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I (Jesus) have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

Now many of you have received Jesus, believed in Him, became a Christian, and yet like eyeing those Krispy Kreme donuts, we have turned our attention and maybe even our affections to something else and we get hungry, wanting, or needing something else to find sufficiency. We look to our job to find ultimate fulfillment, we turn to our family to find basic acceptance, we embrace our spouse or friend to fill that deepest need for love, and yet they don’t satisfy…that hunger is still there.

The truth is Jesus is enough, just Jesus! When we fully embrace who He is, turn to Him as our Heavenly Father, look to Him as our ultimate affection, we will find satisfaction for our souls. It’s not that we don’t do well at our jobs, or enjoy family, or have great marriages or loving friends, but instead of looking towards them for the deep needs of life, we look to Jesus, for there is no need that Jesus cannot fill.

Philippians 4:19 And my God will meet all your needs according to His glorious riches in Christ Jesus.

Our job is to seek Him…

Matthew 6:33 But seek first His kingdom (Jesus on the throne of life or Jesus central in life) and His righteousness, (Jesus’ way of life) and all these things will be given to you as well.

Just Jesus! He is all we need. Is He that for you?

Seeking Just Jesus with you,

Mike

P.S. So there I was, box opened drooling over the donuts. I paused and said to myself, “you have had enough.” I closed the box and enjoyed the rest of the evening, and waited until the next day when I was really hungry!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

