More

Just the other day my wife, Kristi, and I were out to eat. Well, actually we went to Disneyland to one of their restaurants to not only enjoy a fun little dinner, but maybe take in a ride. It was a fun time talking about our day and laughing at each other (you might not know this but Kristi is very funny, witty, and bit crazy!!). We enjoyed the meal and were on our way to the Star Tours ride (only a 10 minute wait). Just before the ride we slipped around the corner to stop at the restrooms and something very sad happened. It was not long lines for the potty, but something I saw as a little family walked by. It was something that left me feeling sorrowful and hurting for this family.

What I observed as I was waiting for Kristi was a mom and dad walking by with a little girl all princess-ed up with the dress and shoes and up-do hair complete with tilted tiara, yet a little disheveled from a day of oh-so-much-fun. This little family was in a hurry, Dad was forging forward pulling on the outstretched arm of our princess-in-training whose other arm was equally stretching back to the stroller with baby brother (I think he was dressed as pirate) and mom scurrying along keeping the stroller close enough so princess-in-the-middle was able to not lose her grip either way. Then it happed! Dad barked out, ‘Hurry up!!’ “I’m (breath) walking (dramatic breath) as- fast (I bit annoyed) as I can (whining)”, whimpered the little girl. The dad then yelled loudly, “Why you little (insert a nasty, degrading, demoralizing, not up lifting, nor affirming word here, and flavor it with great anger). Then the mom chimed in and I thought oh good someone will counter this hurtful and harmful word with some affirmation or something. NO! The mom added her own hurtful words and both dropped a few more “F” bombs and then they were lost in the crowd.

This incident was only for a few seconds, yet I was so bothered. Now I know I did not know the full story, but no one deserves to be treated with such vulgarity, especially a child, especially from parents. I know how it hurt me when my own folks called me names and said hurtful things to me out of anger. Words do hurt and I am just hoping this little girl tuned out her parents at that moment.

As I witnessed this I thought of how much our world throws at us; hurtful, tearing down, hateful, and even vulgar words that really affect us. We feel attacked, beat down, less, and may even start believing these lies.

Well I thought I would give you some TRUTH straight from God to counter all we have to face:

2 Corinthians 5:17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!
John 1:12 Yet to all who received Him, to those who believed in His name, he gave the right to become children of God
Psalm 139:14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.
1 Peter 2:9-10 But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, that you may declare the praises of Him who called you out of darkness into His wonderful light. Once you were not a people, but now you are the people of God; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy.
Romans 8:38-39 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.
Ephesians 1:4-5 For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight. In love he predestined us to be adopted as his sons through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will—

Now I could go on, and you may have your own Bible verses that speak the truth of our identity. For you are more, way more than what people say, and even more than what those close to you may have said. You are royalty, deeply loved, sought after, worth being fought for, and known…even the secret things no one knows…and still loved the same. Let that soak in today.

Soaking in the ‘more’ we are, with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

