Planned Growth

I was out tending my plants the other day and I noticed something that encouraged my faith. See I have this crazy plumaria plant that is growing great, yielding beautiful and very fragrant flowers, and I love the sweet aroma. It reminds me of the tropics and brings back great memories of Kristi and my honeymoon and family trips to the islands.

So in seeking to multiply on this healthy plumeria plant and knowing people take cuttings from these types of plants all the time, and hearing it’s easy, I gave it a try. I cut off a portion stuck it in some dirt and waited…and waited…and waited. Months went by and no sign of growth. It actually looked like it was shriveling up and dying.

I gave up for a while thinking, “I’m just not good at this. I must have done something wrong. My plant must be one of those you can’t take cuttings from.” But I wanted more of that wonderful smell and gorgeous flowers. So figuring I needed some help, I turned to the Internet and asked. Wow, were there an abundance of nice and knowledgeable people willing to give great advice! There were even fun and entertaining videos.

So picking a few resources I followed their instructions and made four cuttings. I then waited, and would you believe it, in just a few short weeks there is evidence of growth! How great is that? I will be seeing and smelling those flowers in a season.

Now you being a smart and insightful person, I’m sure you have come up with all kinds of spiritual insights from my experience. The insight I gained that encouraged my faith is that spiritual growth needs planning, and those plans need to be from a trustworthy and knowledgeable source.

God’s desire is that we grow…

2 Peter 3:18 But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be the glory both now and to the day of eternity. Amen.

Actually, it’s a command from God. Now we could try on our own and venture out there, we do have the Holy Spirit to guide us when you come to faith in Jesus the Holy Spirit becomes your personal spiritual coach and more. (If you want to talk more about that write me back and we can chat.) And He will help you grow. But God has also given us His Word, The Bible…

2 Timothy 3:16-17 All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work.

Now there are many places in the Bible to look for ways to grow in faith, but let me share with you one…

2 Peter 1:5-8 For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self- control; and to self- control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness, love. For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.

There are seven areas to work on that will make your life productive for The Lord. Take some time and mull over those areas. Ask The Lord to help you grow in those areas and wait and see the amazing fruit God brings out in your life and the fragrant aroma of Christ that your life brings.

So, why four cuttings? Well, I want keep one for myself, but the other three are to pass on to my kids and their spouses just like how I want to pass on my faith to others so they can pass their faith on to others…and so on…and so on…until the whole world knows or until Jesus comes back.

Seeking some planned growth with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

