A Constant in Change

I was talking with a student the other day as they were preparing to head off to college. They were very excited about this new phase of their life, but a bit apprehensive, somewhat nervous, and a little worried and concerned. A few days before I had given a high-five to a soon-to-be new dad, with an ‘are you ready?’ question from me, he sheepishly shrugged his shoulders and said ‘I guess so’, and then I saw a bit of terror in his eyes as a woman walked by with a screaming new born. His life was about to change and though joy was certain, this unknown change was a bit daunting.

Change is part of life; maturing, puberty, back-to-school, a new job, a new house, a new hobby, a new friend…lots of change comes our way. Of course college and new babies are a change, but also marriage, divorce, health issues, and death. Life is full of tragic, tremendous, tough, and terrific change. Sometimes these changes are little, and a lot of times they are life changing.

Yet in and amongst all this change there is a constant. Constant meaning fixed, steadfast, steady, unaltered and unchanged. Yes, even as life has changed over history there is a constant and I bet you have already guessed it.

Hebrews 13:8 Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.

Yes, from before time began, Jesus is! The Apostle Paul reminds of this in the Bible book of Colossians:

Colossians 1:15-17 The Son is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. For in Him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things have been created through Him and for Him. He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together.

Jesus is a constant in change. He does not change. His love is secure.

1 John 4:10 This is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.
John 15:13 Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.

Jesus’ care never wavers.

Matthew 11:28-30 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

And it seems to me when I focus on Jesus and His constant love, grace, care, mercy, loving-kindness it replaces worry, fear, and uncertainty with peace, security, and that comforting sense of love (look up Matthew 6:33 and Philippians 4:7).

King David of the Old Testament constantly focused on our steadfast God in his ever-changing world as in most of the Psalms he wrote he focused on our amazing Lord.

Psalms 62:1-2 Truly my soul finds rest in God; my salvation comes from Him. Truly He is my rock and my salvation; He is my fortress, I will never be shaken.

Psalms 63:1-3 You, God, are my God, earnestly I seek You; I thirst for You, my whole being longs for You, in a dry and parched land where there is no water. I have seen You in the sanctuary and beheld Your power and Your glory. Because Your love is better than life, my lips will glorify You.

Yes, change happens but The Lord and His love, grace, mercy, and loving-kindness is constant. As you experience change it does help to stop and spend some time reading, praying, and focusing on our amazing and awesome Lord. Give it a try; I know it helps me!

Seeking the constant love of The Lord in our ever changing world with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

