Don’t Forget to Look Up

This past week I took my annual trip up to Hume Lake Christian Camps to visit and connect with our students, children, counselors, and staff that are up at camp this week. It is a great time for me to hang out and get to know these wonderful people of our church…I just love it! I also play courier by taking up any care packages parents want to send with me (saving them some postage and making it all that much easier for them to bless their children). I love being the bearer of those gifts of love for our kids. I also work in some time to study and work on a few projects.

Now this year I was a little busy because we have our big Annual Celebration Sunday this Sunday! (For those of you who are in the area or call Cypress Church your home, this Sunday, June 30th is going to be great with one service at 9:30am with a quick business portion in the middle of the program, then a ‘bring-your-own’ lunch in the park right afterwards.) So with all that on my mind, I was a little preoccupied. I did get some great time with students and our adult leaders, and a few runs around the lake, but my mind was full, and for me that does not take much!

One night as I was making my way back to my room, my mind was full of details for Sunday, praying for kids, thinking how God uses this place to lead hundreds to Him, thinking about my kids (four of them volunteered to be counselors this year), thinking about my favorite milkshake from the snack-shack, thinking about how awesome God is…and then It happened! Right there in mid thought; God pushed a thought in my mind. It was not congruent with my current stream of thought, but it was clear. Not audible words or even a voice in my head, but just a thought, “Don’t forget to look up!” I answered back, “What? Where did that notion come from?” I noticed I was looking down so I would not trip in the darkness. I stopped and there it was again; “Don’t forget to look up!” I looked around to see if there was something I was supposed to notice. Nothing unusual; big tall trees, the Hume building all lit up, a few people walking to the snack-shack to get a milkshake I sure. But no, nothing extraordinary to warrant this thought from God.

So I decided to take another step and just before my foot hit the ground, it happened again, but louder, “Don’t forget to LOOK UP!!” So I did. I put my food down and I looked straight up, craning my neck as far back as I could, and oh my, the sky exploded with the most brilliant stars I have seen. There was the big dipper, Orion’s belt, the North Star, and a zillion other stars that seemed to get brighter and closer as a stood there mesmerized by the glory of it all. Just then the Holy Spirit shot some Scriptures into my brain:

Psalm 8:1, 3-4 O LORD, our Lord, how majestic is Your name in all the earth! You have set Your glory above the heavens. When I consider Your heavens, the work of Your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that You are mindful of him, the son of man that You care for him?
Psalm 19:1-2 The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of His hands. Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they display knowledge.

I was in awe! My mind stopped thinking of details, things to do, who I wanted to contact, what I wanted to eat, how I was going to accomplish my tasks, I even lost track of what I was doing. My mind was directed to dwell on our amazing, incredible, all-powerful, Almighty, awesome God who placed each of those stars and has named everyone.

Psalm 147:4 He determines the number of the stars and calls them each by name.

I was caught up in the glory, splendor, majesty and magnificence of God. What was also amazing was any anxiety I was feeling about all the details running through my head just left and a wonderful peace filled my soul. Also, a great confidence took hold of me that God is in control, I need not worry or toil or fret. Yes, work hard and do all that God has for me but trust in Him. These verses came to mind:

Psalm 4:5 Offer right sacrifices and trust in the LORD.
Psalm 9:9-10 The LORD is a refuge for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble. Those who know Your name will trust in You, for You, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek You.
Psalm 20:7 Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the LORD our God.
Psalm 31:6 I hate those who cling to worthless idols; I trust in the LORD.
Psalm 31:14 But I trust in You, O LORD; I say, “You are my God.”

Wow, my busy mind was calmed and my concerned heart was put at rest because God is way bigger than my issues, for He can handle anything! All this came because I looked up. So my challenge to you today is don’t forget to look up and notice our awesome God. It may even change your outlook on the day…I know it did for me.

Seeking to Trust our Amazing God with You as We Look up to Him,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

