More Than Enough

This past week was a special one for me for there was not only a wonderful experience, but a time I once again was given a glimpse into our relationship with Jesus. The particular event was my son Josh and his wife Kasey coming home from Ecuador. They have been there serving the Lord, but mostly to gain some insight on God’s call on their lives. It was a tremendous experience, and both Josh and Kasey have great stories to tell and journals full how God did speak to them. Yet the wonderful experience and insight God gave me was not what they learned, but something else…let me explain.

We all were at the airport, both ours and Kasey’s family; with painted signs ready and we could not wait for that first sighting as they came out of the gate area. The anticipation was mounting as we received texts that they had landed, yet their plane was waiting for an open gate. As groups of people passed by (some wishing they had a reception party like this for them) we would ask were they had come from hoping it would be Josh and Kasey’s flight. It seemed like an eternity! But then all of the sudden Kasey screamed from around the corner and there they were. We erupted in cheers, hugs, kisses, big squeezes, smiles from ear to ear, and even a few tears of joy. It was so very special!

And then it happened. My son gave me one of those big hugs, one of those hugs that have more to it than just the customary greeting hug…a hug with meaning…a hug that says way more than words could express. Yet there were some words. Josh whispered in my ear, “I love you Pops!” In that moment all the concern over travel, the distance I had felt with them being gone, the incomplete feeling of them not being around, the worry we parents feel about our kids was satisfied and this reunion was more than enough. My kids were back home.

As I have been contemplating that and enjoying Josh and Kasey being back home, I was given that glimpse of my relationship with Jesus. As I hugged Josh back I thought of myself hugging the Lord and letting Him know I love Him and He is more than enough for me, and that my relationship with Jesus is sufficient, ample to fulfill my life, and is plenty to meet all I really need. King David of the Bible captures that feeling in Psalm 63.

Psalm 63:1-8 O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water. I have seen you in the sanctuary and beheld your power and your glory. Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you. I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up my hands. My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise you. On my bed I remember you; I think of you through the watches of the night. Because you are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings. My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me.

Hillsong wrote a great song that captures this as well. The song is entitled “Healer.”

You hold my every moment, You calm my raging seas, You walk with me through fire, And heal all my disease

The song goes on with this chorus:

I believe You’re my Healer, I believe You are all I need, I believe You’re my Portion, I believe You’re more than enough for me…Jesus You’re all I need.

So the question is, is Jesus more than enough for you? He can be and wants to be. It’s making Him central. That involves trust (Proverbs 3:5-6), constantly placing Jesus in that center throne of our lives (Matthew 6:33), and constantly growing in knowing Him (2 Peter 3:18…and yes, look up these verses!!). It will make all the difference in the world…really! I know it does for me.

God bless you as you seek to put Christ central in life.

Seeking to embrace Jesus and having Him be more than enough with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Than Enough

  1. It was such a pleasure to have them here in Ecuador! We are so thrilled they had such a welcome home (not that we expected anything less from these families). As you described your anticipation, please keep praying for the many who won’t be on a flight “home” to welcome arms of loved ones waiting. Many days it is tough, especially of late and the countless goodbye’s we have said to good friends leaving the field for various reasons. The toll is showing on our kids faces, who don’t get summer with Grandma and Pops, cousins and aunties, uncles and friends. Thanks for your loving visit with us too, bringing hugs from home and encouragement with love. Thanks for the support and partnership as we keep on keeping on, knowing it is God’s will for us to be here. At the end of the day, Christ is ENOUGH…more than enough and we count all our blessings once again.
    Missing your kids,

    The Williams Family

Leave a Reply

