Binge Prevention

I don’t know if this ever happens to you, but there are times when I get so hungry I throw caution to the wind and just start cramming all kinds of things in my mouth to satiate my hunger. I am soooooo hungry I have got to get something in my belly! I try some restraint by going for some fruit or carrots, but then I want something bready like crackers or a roll with cheese…yes cheese, you know those cool little ones in the wax wrapping, or that spread cheese…oh then there’s some cookies…slap a little frosting on them and yes! Since now I am thinking sweet, how about some chocolate with peanut butter! Wait, I found some Cool Whip, let’s dip the Nilla Wafers in that. How about some left overs? That seasoned chicken looks yummy…maybe add a dab of BBQ sauce…oh just dump a bunch on. Hmm, I could dip some potato chips in that sauce. As I look for the chips I notice some cereal. Hey I could put that in a cup with some Craisins and a few nuts and drink that right up!! Yes I was that hungry!

So as I am there with crumbs down my front, a little sauce in the corner of my mouth, and empty wrappers on the kitchen counter, I notice I am no longer hungry, feeling a little full, but still not really satisfied. That’s the thing about these kinds of binges. Sure your stomach is full, but not content, like I’m still wanting for more. Now before you go too far with this or call the nutrition police on me, let me take this to the point I want to make.

See the real reason I clicked into binge mode was I forgot to have lunch. I got busy with things and just downed a granola bar…oh and forgot breakfast too. I had not satisfied my nutritional needs and I was left wanting. Most days I do have my steel cut oatmeal with fresh berries for breakfast and a nice chicken salad (no dressing) for lunch, and when I veer too far from that a craving for something arises and a binge is lurking. My best prevention is to eat well and be so satisfied I can go for a healthy snack or wait for dinner.

This same idea goes with health of life. See we were designed to live in relationship with Jesus, yet because of sin we have been set to crave filling our life with whatever is before us and we think tastes good or feels right for us regardless if is good for us our not. And if we are honest, we do fill our lives with a lot of self-centered garbage, yet the key is to be satisfied with the health reality of Jesus.

Jesus was explaining that when He was talking to a woman at a well in John 4:

John 4:14 but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

I encourage you to read the full story. But the point is when we take in Jesus, know who He is, what He has done, how He wants us to live, what life in Him is like…when we drink that in it satisfies the cravings, and self-centeredness is not nearly as intense and our bingeing is prevented. The sad reality is we can take on these self-centered binges and cause great damage to life; relationally when it has to be all about me, in a marriage when it’s all about my needs, at work when it’s my way or the highway, at home when it’s take, take, take, and even at church when it’s my influence, my expectations, my style, my way…we are on a me-self-centered binge.

Being satisfied with Jesus is putting Him central in life.

Matthew 6:33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.

Check out the whole chapter to gain the context, but It’s placing Jesus on throne of our lives seeking Him. It’s also diving into who Jesus is and taking on His character.

Romans 13:14 Rather, clothe yourselves with the Lord Jesus Christ, and do not think about how to gratify the desires of the sinful nature.

All the while doing what Colossians 3:16 says.

Colossians 3:16-17 Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God.

It’s feeding on God’s word not so much looking for what to do or some work to accomplish, but to be filled with who Jesus is. Maybe if we spend more time being satisfied with Jesus we would spend less time bingeing on self. Jesus is the best binge prevention out there. Why not give it a try…it may even change your life.

Seeking to be More Satisfied with Jesus with You,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

