Self Service

I’m sure you have noticed them as I have, those ‘self-service’ lines in stores where you check-out on your own; scanning the item, inserting cash or some other form of payment, bagging your purchases, and collecting your receipt as you head out the door with no one needed to service your purchase. You had ‘self-service.’ One of my favorite self-serve options is the self-serve frozen yogurt store. There you serve up just what you want, including toppings, but you have to be careful because they charge by the weight and one time I paid over $10 for a single serving! I guess self-service did not pay off for me.

Self-service has come to mean more SELF than service; we like that aspect of being in control, moving at our pace, or being allowed to do things the way we want. What gets us into trouble is when we start to think that self (us, you, me, us people) are the most important things in the universe. Self-service goes bad when we think we are the self, deserving the service. Now, it’s not that we have a self-loathing, but we…

Philippians 2:3-4 Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others.

Self-service should mean more of the SERVICE part, and the self (you and me) should be the one serving. That is what Jesus’ aim was.

Mark 10:45 For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give His life as a ransom for many.”

Not only that, but Jesus served out of great love for us.

John 15:13 Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.

His great love was demonstrated in not only how He cared for people (see Matthew 9:35-36) but how He paid the penalty for our sin when He died on the cross (see 1 John 4:9-10). Because of His great love we should love/serve like Jesus.

1 John 4:11 Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.

That is true self-service where we soak in the love and service of Jesus and choose put ourselves in places where we let self-serve.

As we begin our spiritual growth campaign (a centered focus on one issue) this year we will be focusing on and receive a challenge to Love Like Jesus. Listed in this email are elements of this campaign that we are praying you would choose to be involved in. This is going to be a wonderful time of encouragement, challenge, learning, and practicing loving like Jesus. I do hope you will make this part of your life for the next few weeks.

Seeking to Love Like Jesus with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Self Service

  1. CIndy Seitz says:

    God is the one who has blessed my life and brings people into the seasons of my life when I need them to love me,listen to me.pray with me and help me grow and learn. In turn I get filled with the spirit of God and I can pour that love and compassion onto to others.

Leave a Reply

