U-Turn

I was out the other day on an errand and using my way-cool navigation app that actually talks to me, “Turn left on Valley View,” “Take the next right,” “Your destination is just ahead on the left.” How fun is that?!? Well on this particular outing as I was following the pleasant directions of my new navigational friend, and she said, “You’re heading the wrong way, make an immediate u-turn!,” and she kept repeating it. At first I appreciated the comment, though I felt I knew the way, so I just ignored her. She said it again, “You’re heading the wrong way, make an immediate u-turn!,” I replied back with a bit of attitude, “I know! I’ve driven this way before…and I know a secret way…trust me,” (why I think she could understand me or hear me I don’t know, but I figured it didn’t hurt and who knows, maybe she did hear me). She replied immediately, “You’re heading the wrong way, make an immediate u-turn!”

After our little verbal bantering back and forth (well it was more me explaining how I knew what I was doing because she kept coming back to her standard message…make a u-turn), but after a bit, I realized I was kind of lost, made the u-turn, and got back on course.

As I thought of this little interesting app, I thought how great it would be to have one of these for life. An app that when you were heading down a wrong way it said, “You’re heading the wrong way, make an immediate u-turn!” Then I realized as a believer in Jesus, we have that app, it’s the Holy Spirit.

John 14:16-17 And I (Jesus) will ask the Father, and He will give you another Counselor (Holy Spirit) to be with you forever– the Spirit of truth…

How great is that? Our own life directional guide.

John 14:26 But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.

John 16:13 But when He, the Spirit of truth, comes, He will guide you into all truth. He will not speak on his own; He will speak only what He hears, and He will tell you what is yet to come.
Will we listen or will we just keep moving on, thinking we’ve got it all under control?

If there was ever a time we need to hear some divine direction, it’s now, with the scary economic roads, to the turbulent political highways, world hunger issues, wars, and evil dictators…we need to hear how God wants us to go…and if maybe, we personally need to make a u-turn because we are heading a wrong direction.

As an observer of human nature and as a follower of Christ, I have noticed a few areas that God has challenged me to turn around and areas we as Christians may be traveling the wrong way…and need to make a u-turn (oh, by the way the Biblical word for u-turn is repent).

The first possible u-turn is the tendency to freak out, come unhinged, or move to despair when difficulties hit; be it personal finances, health, the economy or world unrest. We have forgotten that Jesus is King!…That He is sovereign! That He has never stepped off His throne nor will He, and He is still Lord…

Colossians 1:15-17 He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. or by Him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things were created by Him and for Him. He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together.

It’s a matter of trust, and though we deal with the hardships we need not fear, for Jesus is in control…maybe we need to repent from our lack of trust and belief that Jesus is still Lord.

Maybe we need to repent from relying on our health, wealth, success, a political party or a presidential candidate to save us from the difficulties of life…

John 14:6 Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life…

No condition of life, political party, or candidate has the power save us or give us an abundant life…Jesus is life’s only Savior…and no political party or candidate has THE answer…it’s still only Jesus…I don’t care who endorses what candidate and who vilifies the other…Jesus is THE way and will always be THE way, THE Savior and THE life for us…maybe we need to repent from seeking salvation from something or somewhere else.

Another area we might need to repent in not living up to our name as “Christian,” meaning “little Christ”, one who is like Jesus in love, grace, mercy, and kindness. Yet that is the opposite of how we have acted, especially in this election time. It has been crazy that people who are supposed to love like Jesus are dishonoring candidates with snide comments, slandering their name, calling them Hitler…and not respecting their position or the reality that God has placed them where they are…

1 Peter 4:7-8 The end of all things is near. Therefore be clear minded and self-controlled so that you can pray.  Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.
We are to love…yet many times we can be down-right jerks…some of the comments I see on Facebook are not becoming of a believer in Jesus. We are not to be like this, we need to repent and live the excellence of love.

Also, many of us need to repent from being manipulated…manipulated because of our lack of knowing the issues and really knowing God’s Word… we have even been manipulated by people of faith who more want our vote than to help us follow God…and they distort, tell ½ truths, use guilt and shame…and even lie to get your vote. We need to be wise and well read, study the issues and the Bible so we can vote God’s ways as best we can.

Lastly we may need to repent from being safe, from not growing, avoiding involvement, not stepping up and getting involved in God’s call on our lives. We Christians are either so into ourselves or just plan lazy…we need to readjust life and make room to serve God.

I know I have been a little strong and you may be following God’s way wonderfully. That’s awesome, keep going…for some of us, we need to hear, “You’re heading the wrong way, make an immediate u-turn!” And the reason I mention the political climate is because it’s only going to ramp up in the next few days, and regardless, if you are able to vote or not, we can easily get thrown off course and need to keep moving God’s direction.

My prayer is that we all would listen to the Holy Spirit’s leading, and, if needed, make that u-turn.

Seeking to drive thru life under the influence of the Lord with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

