Adventure

I have a confession to make. Now it’s not something bad, though I guess it could get out of hand. It’s not something illegal or unlawful or against God’s way of life, though I’m sure if you took it to extremes it could be. What it is is adventure! I love adventure! However, I’m not super adventuresome nor do I always need to be risk-taking, daring, exciting, audacious, bold, or exploratory, but all those words truly resonate with me. I love a good adventure. Be it a movie, a story, a game, a conversation, an outing, a vacation, or some new venture, I enjoy the journey. I even enjoy the struggle, the difficulty, and strain that the adventure brings, because like all true adventures, there is a treasure to be found.

Like the adventure of a family vacation. Sure there is the stress and strain of finances and planning and maybe even the relational idiosyncrasies, yet the amazing treasure of shared experiences, time talking, and fun memories, they are priceless.

You see adventures aren’t supposed to be safe. They are meant to push us, stretch us, thrust us into something new and therefore adding spice to life and bring us to a whole new eyes-wide-open kind of living.

I believe God calls us to many adventures in life and those adventures involve a choice. Like the adventure of living life God’s way. Like when God’s chosen people of Israel were about to venture out without Joshua as their key leader, and Joshua challenges them…

Joshua 24:14 “Now fear the LORD and serve Him with all faithfulness. Throw away the gods your forefathers worshiped beyond the River and in Egypt, and serve the LORD.

That’s the same adventure we are called to, to serve the Lord. But this adventure involves a choice…

Joshua 24:15 But if serving the LORD seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your forefathers served beyond the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the LORD.”

See, Joshua knows the true value of living life God’s way. It is the treasure of walking in obedience. Sure it’s tough and requires strength and courage (read the first few chapter of the Bible book of Joshua), but the result is the victory we did it, the memories of accomplishment, and the joy of living out our design. Are you living that adventure?

God also has the adventure of love for us…

John 13:34-35 “A new command I (Jesus) give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this all men will know that you are My disciples, if you love one another.”

Oh my is this adventure full of mystery, unknown, and even danger. We might get our feelings hurt. We might not get loved back. We might love someone, and I’m talking all kinds of relationships from caring for fellow brothers and sisters, to people we are seeking to minister to, to friends, family and even our mates. Relationships are a risky exploit guaranteed to leave you weary and warn. But oh the treasure of companionship, love, shared experiences, and more! Again this adventure of love is a choice to seek out and love other. Even the new command is not ‘be open to be loved’ but to give love. Where are you in that adventure?

Another adventure God calls us all on is the adventure of prayer…

1 Thessalonians 5:17 pray continually;

To talk to God about everything and anything; adoring God for who is, thanking Him for what He has done, asking on behalf of others, sharing with Him your thoughts (yes He already knows them, but He loves the sound of your voice and thought), and to share requests we have. Now the treasure is enormous…

Philippians 4:6-7 Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Sure we don’t get everything we ask for (we can talk about that in another post), but we do know God hears us.

Psalm 116:1-2 I love the LORD, for He heard my voice; He heard my cry for mercy. Because He turned His ear to me, I will call on Him as long as I live.

Prayer is a great adventure with the agony of waiting on God’s answer, yet the assurance He hears us, and the treasure of peace. How deep do you really go with this adventure?

There are many other adventures we could talk about, and I bet you have a few you are on right now, but let me encourage you to seek those adventures God has laid out before you and resist that pull to be ‘safe.’

Seeking Live God’s Adventures with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

