Take a Break and Admire The Beauty

ImageWell, welcome to summer! It has officially started June 20, 2012, though it seemed to feel like it has already started with most kids out of school, graduations, summer camp, and the hotter weather. But, yea!  It’s Summer! Summer is a wonderful time because, for many, they will take some time to change their routine and hopefully rest, recreate, rejuvenate, and maybe even build some new or deepen relationships. We do need breaks from time to time to do just that, and ‘smell the roses’ or just plain admire the beauty God created around us.

I was up at Hume Lake Christian Camp the first part of this week, even though I have a lot to prepare for our upcoming India trip. (By the way, I sure could use your prayers. Justin and I have about eight sermon type messages to prepare and we both are have been crazy busy. So please pray as we leave in 12 days!! Ok, now I am hyperventilating!) I took the time to go to Hume not only to bring care packages to our students and to connect with our students and leaders, but to take a little time and just admire God’s beauty.  Hume is such a beautiful place. The kind of take your breath away beauty; deep blue skies, lush evergreen forest, glistening lake, and over a thousand students making life changing decisions. I just love it! And as I run the lake, I take in moments to soak in the splendor, bask in the magnificence, and enjoy God’s handy work. It recharged my emotional batteries, it calibrated my life-purpose compass, and it fired up my passion to live out God’s unique call on my life. It was a sacrifice because I have a lot going on, but worth the time. Plus my daughter Jessika came with me and that was an extra special bonus to have that time to spend with her as well.

As life goes, there will always be something to do or get done. Not only that, there is those ever present projects just waiting to be done; paint this, fix that, mow the grass, wash the car, weed the garden, get the oil changed in the car (oh that reminds me both of our cars need the oil changed…great, add that to the schedule!).  You get the point. There is always lots of stuff to do. And maybe some time we should take a break and admire the beauty God has blessed us with.

A few years back, in a very busy train station in Washington DC a man started to play his violin…it was beautiful. He played six Bach pieces in that time. Out of the thousands that passed by only six stopped, a few said thank you, and about 20 people gave him a few dollars. What people did not know is that this was the very famous violinist Joshua Bell who was playing some of music’s most intricate pieces and playing on a violin worth over 3.5 million dollars. Not only that, but just the night before Joshua played before a sold-out crowd who had paid over $100 a seat to hear him. This was an experiment the Washington Post did to show we rarely stop our rushed and busy lives to admire beauty.

I love what Psalm 8 says:

NIV Psalm 8:1 O LORD, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth! You have set your glory above the heavens.

As well Psalm 9:

NIV Psalm 9:1-2 I will praise you, O LORD, with all my heart; I will tell of all your wonders.  I will be glad and rejoice in you; I will sing praise to your name, O Most High.

Why not take a quick break right now and take a mental trip to a place where you are in awe of God’s handy work. Read Psalm 8:1 again. Make time and take time to stop and admire the beauty God has given us…it will restore your soul.

Seeking to admire God’s beauty with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Take a Break and Admire The Beauty

  1. Wendy Wollin Tung says:

    good word Mike! that picture brings back memories-God is so good, thank you for the encouragement 🙂

Leave a Reply

