A Closer Connection

I just got off from a phone call with my son and the conversation was great. He was seeking some insights, we jawed about golf and the happenings of the day/week, I had a question, he wanted my opinion, we chatted some more and hung up. We did not talk about anything real deep or bared our souls or even had one of those father/son moments where we verbalize our deep love for each other. No, it was just good average connections for us because we are close and do enjoy talking about life and such.

Now, I do have to tell you that when my phone buzzed (I had it on vibrate mode) and I noticed it was him, all the thoughts of what I was working on just stopped and the flood gates of questions gushed into my mind. Why is he calling me? Is he ok? Is something wrong? Is he hurt? Is Kasey ok? Was he in an accident? Now, you might think, “Wow Mike, being a bit paranoid aren’t you?” Well maybe, but I have received those calls before. Like the time I got the call (in a strained and a slightly disoriented voice) “Dad, um…I kind of fell off my skate board. I got a little banged up. I don’t think I broke anything, but, um…I did black out for a while, and I think I need to go to the hospital, but I don’t think I can drive. I’m over on Signal Hill.” (Yes, Signal Hill in Long Beach, that really steep and windy road that is VERY dangerous and only a crazy person would think of conquering that hill on a skateboard!). In addition, I have received calls that went a little like this; “Dad, someone just rear-ended me…”, “Dad I just got in an accident…”, “Dad, you are not going to believe what just happened, some guy ran a red light and hit me…” So yes, I do wince a little, but I have also received those calls, “Dad, I nailed that test”, “Dad, I really think I love her”, “Dad, hey I got us tickets for the game.” So there has been a good variety of calls from my son to warrant the flood of questions.

However, regardless of the content of the call my attention is raptured on him. This joy-filled attention is given because of a deep love, a love that is difficult to put into words. You see, I love my son Josh; not for what he does, not for his talent, not because he is so charming and handsome and fun to be around, not even because he is kind and loving and godly. I just do! It happened the day I found out we were pregnant (and I found out this child was a boy…that’s a whole other story…and yes I love my daughters and now their spouses this way too), but it has been growing all these years. So, when he calls he has my attention!

As I thought about how much I love my son and truly enjoy a close connection with him, it turned me to think about God and how much He must enjoy it when we call upon Him. God loves us more than we could imagine. We talked about that a few weeks ago, and when we reach out to connect with Him, He gives us raptured attention.

Psalm 18:6 In my distress I called to the LORD; I cried to my God for help. From His temple He heard my voice; my cry came before Him, into His ears.

Psalm 34:4 I sought the LORD, and He answered me; He delivered me from all my fears.

Psalm 118:5 In my anguish I cried to the LORD, and He answered by setting me free.

If God is so available (and He is) should we not do what James 4:8 says?

James 4:8 Come near to God and He will come near to you…

Or what Jesus said in Matthew 11:28?

Matthew 11:28 “Come to Me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

You see, we can have that closer connection with God. All it takes is to make time and take time to talk to Him. Just like my son gave me a call, why not take a moment and just let God know what’s on your mind? Maybe you should ask some questions you have, share with Him how you feel, ask Him to help you, guide you, heal you, comfort you…whatever is on your heart. He can’t wait to hear the sound of your voice (from in your head or out loud). You make God smile.

Seeking a closer connection with God as well,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

