Yes, I would like a PEACE please

Is it just me or does it seem like a lot of people are looking stressed, overwhelmed, frustrated, and even angry? I mean, we hear in the news about an airline stewardess and even a pilot that flipped out in an angry rage. I was out the other day and some grandpa just completely berated his grandson for not listening to him. A lady in a store was so angry she was yelling at the clerk because they were not bagging her groceries the way she wanted. And don’t get me started on way people express their pent up emotions as they drive. I had one business looking woman (she was in a business suit, hair just right, looking all ready to do some high class executive work) driving in the lane next to me. I signaled that I needed to get over and began to accelerate so I could change lanes. I would have done so if she had kept to her original speed, however she accelerated and closed the safe gap I had created to make the lane change…so I pushed the gas a little more, and so did she! Well, since I was still ahead of her I pushed the gas all the way down and made the quick lane change, still with plenty of room behind me as to not slow this other car down. Well, this must have offended her because as I looked in my rear view mirror she was looking like she was screaming at me, her hair flying about as she jerked her head around and flailing her arms about with a coffee in one hand and what looked like an eyelash brush in the other. She did not look happy with me! I tried to change lanes to get next to her and apologize, or at least gesture I was sorry, yet when I pulled up next to her she was giving me her own hand motions (I thought it was the “your number one” sign, then I realized it was the wrong finger!!) Again, so angry.

It’s just seems there is a huge lack of peace in our world today. I hear people talking about how they would love for just one peaceful moment. I overheard one conversation at a restaurant were someone said, “yes, I would like a peace…” and I thought they were talking about piece, like a piece of pie. But as the conversation went on they were talking about peace (yes, I admit it, I was eaves-dropping) because life for them was so out-of-control.

The truth is we could all say we would love a little more peace in our lives…those moments of serenity and calm where we take in a deep breath and exhale with the joy of life. So how do we experience peace? Well, we could go on for hours talking about ways, techniques, and steps to peace, but for just a moment let me talk a little about the One the world will be focusing on this week that is called “The Prince of Peace”.

Isaiah 9:6 For to us a Child is born, to us a Son is given, and the government will be on His shoulders. And He will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

The Prince of Peace is Jesus and our world celebrates this Holy Week, we are reminded of the peace He brings. For as Isaiah 59:2 says,

Isaiah 59:2 But your iniquities have separated you from your God; your sins have hidden his face from you, so that he will not hear.

There is a distance and that separation causes stress, frustration, that out-of-sorts feeling like life is not aligned, in other words, no peace.

Colossians 1:21 Once you were alienated from God and were enemies in your minds because of your evil behavior.

But Jesus can change all that. That’s why He said,

John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; My peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

Jesus gives us a peace with God as we believe in Him as our Savior

Colossians 1:22 But now he has reconciled you by Christ’s physical body through death to present you holy in his sight, without blemish and free from accusation–

Now, if you are unclear if you believe or not, write me back and let’s chat. But if you do believe, know that that gap between you and God is filled, and you, as a son or daughter of God, have full access to Him and are considered family (read Romans 5-8).

Not only does Jesus give us peace with God, but also the peace of God.

John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; My peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

This peace of God is where we are calmed because life lived His way has a peace that surpasses understanding. It’s the peace that comes when we trust in God, delight in God, commit ourselves to God, and submit ourselves to God’s way (read Psalm 37:3-7…and if you are in the Cypress area join us this Sunday as I will be talking a little about this).

All this peace found in Jesus. Let me encourage you this next week, Holy Week, to take in as many church services as you can, read your Bible, and take time to dwell on the Prince of Peace…and I know His peace will fill you.

Seeking The Peace of Jesus with you,

Mike

P.S. Here are the Easter Week services at Cypress Church. I would love for you to join us.

Palm Sunday, April 1st at 9 a.m. or 10:30 a.m.
Maundy Thursday, April 5th at 7 p.m.
Good Friday, April 6th at 7 p.m.
Holy Saturday, April 7th at 4, 5 & 6 p.m.
Easter Sunday, April 8th at 8, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

