Put A Little Spice In It

It’s getting about that time of year, you know, where the days are longer and the temperature is warming up. You get that itch, that longing for those savory aromas that desire to stretch out once again with your talents and learned skills. You find yourself making plans, sifting through mailings for good deals, and eyeing new equipment. Yes, it’s barbeque time and your grill has a renewed allure. You don’t just want to heat something up, you want that grill teeming with choice cuts and unique outdoor cooking delicacies. You want something with spice, a kick, a flavor that makes those taste buds not just bloom, but dace with delight! Ok, maybe I’m getting a little carried away, but when it comes to BBQ or really any cooking, who wants just some bland old normal food with no taste or spice. No, real foodies (people who enjoy eating and finding fun and fine foods) want something with a little spice or flavor that says something. Bland, normal, and average are no fun. We want memorable…a taste that is noticeable.

As I was thinking about this and what my next BBQ adventure might be and a verse popped into my head.

Revelation 3:15-16 I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! So, because you are lukewarm– neither hot nor cold– I am about to spit you out of my mouth.

I started thinking about my life and the passion/spice I serve the Lord. Sometimes I get all fired up like I do with cooking on my grill and I want to give God my best and produce something sprinkled with the spice of passion. Yet I’m sad to say sometimes I give God the lukewarm leftovers of my efforts and really don’t put my all into it.

As a church we have just come off a great passionate time of growth as we sought to be More Like Jesus and grow in our faith. We saw God at work in our lives and were infused with a renewed passion to get on with God’s unique call on our lives, to grow as 2 Peter 3:18 says and get about the ‘good works’ that Ephesians 2:10 says. Now, we can go about this and plod and lope along, yet why not put a little spice in it and get excited and passionate about the great adventure God has called us all to…to live life in a close relationship with Jesus serving His purposes.

Now, everyone’s passion is a little different, but you know what your excited-drive-to-press-on looks like. So go after it. We see the Apostle Paul speak of it.

Philippians 3:12-14 Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

What about you? I know I’m getting fired up just thinking about it. God has great and wonderful things ahead for us. Sure, there will be bumps and valleys and hardships along the way. Paul had loads of them, yet he still pressed on and so can you. Lord bless you as you add a little spice of passion to your walk with God.

Seasoning Life with a Little Passion with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

