Just a Kind Word

It happened while I was reading an email from a friend. Something compelled me to go back and read it again. It wasn’t that I did not understand the message, but it was something he said that I wanted to hear again. His word choice was not only of a sort that brought me back for more, but did something inside me. I felt something, like a cool drink on a hot day, like that favorite snack to swage a pang of hunger, like watching your team win.  What were these powerful words of wonder? What was said that had such an impact on me? It was a few choice words of affirmation.

These kind words soaked down deep and were used by the Lord to encourage me. See, that’s what thoughtful words of encouragement do, they are used by the Lord to build us up and help us see ourselves as God does. I’m not talking about fluff and platitudes, you know, those empty compliments that are meant to only stroke egos and manipulate. No, I’m talking about genuine heartfelt words that point us to the person God made us to be. And God did create us. Read Psalm 139 over and over and over until it soaks in that each of us are fearfully and wonderfully handmade by God…and God makes no mistakes. You are a special and a unique masterpiece of God’s handiwork! He was pleased when He made you and looks at you with the utmost love.

Now you may be thinking I am making a lot of just a few words from a friend, but regardless, they built me up and encouraged me.

Ephesians 4:29  29 Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.

I was also challenged to see if I could be used by God to bless another as I was blessed. It has been a lot of fun to look for ways to affirm and encourage others. I wonder what impact we could make on our world if we each sought to give out some heartfelt kind words…it would make a difference.

Seeking to Affirm Others with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

