Random Post-Wedding Thoughts

As many of you know, we had all three of our kids get married within a four month span. There were venues to view, food to taste, lists to make, dresses to try on, decisions to be made, and comments like, “Oh, by the way dad, we need to put down a deposit real soon.” Yep, we had to figure out how to pay for these celebrations. We also had showers to plan and attend, family to figure out, and our poor families trying to make it to all the events. It was quite a time. Not to mention this life changing event for the kids and for us as parents.

I’m sure the Lord will give me great insights as I process and consider this new normal for Kristi and me, but here are some random post-wedding thoughts that went through my head:

“It costs how much?”

Will we all be together this holiday season?

How could someone love her as much as I do?

Lord, thank you for the great choices they have made.

“Hey dad let me get lunch.”

It seems just yesterday they were going to their first day of school.

I feel like I just handed a precious Stradivarius Violin over to a gorilla! (Now, I love my sons-in-law but you get the picture.)

Their rooms don’t just look empty and quiet there is a loud void making it a bit uncomfortable.

As each left for their honeymoon I yelled out after the car, “Why you leave me?” (Watch the movie My Big Fat Greek Wedding and you will get it.)

I did not think letting them go would affect me so deeply.

“Thank you Daddy”, I really like the name Daddy or as my son sometimes says “Pops”.

Did we prepare them well for the ups and downs that will come their way?

I can’t believe all the people that were so willing to help. We could not have done it without them!

They were “DIY” weddings, (Do It Yourself), and in our case it was DIY with friends.

Another shower?

He really loves her…I can see it in his eyes.

Joy sometimes comes with tears.

How are you doing with all this change dad?

I need to ask more questions now instead of giving more directives.

As I danced the father daughter dance with Jamie I whispered to her, “I don’t want this to end.”

I’m sure there will be more thoughts as we go through this ‘all-of-a-sudden’ change in our lives, but the thing that gives me great comfort is God was not surprised with all of this. He knew and not only prepared us all for this, but he provided. He graced us all along the way; things did not cost as much, and loads of people helped. He provided a peace that surpasses understanding. 

I know this is not a huge change in life, nor a major disaster, accident, or devastating event, but God is walking with us…I can sense His presence and I can see His hand.

Hebrews 13:5 God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

Philippians 4:19  19 And my God will meet all your needs according to His glorious riches in Christ Jesus.

And so I pray…

Philippians 4:20  20 To our God and Father be glory for ever and ever. Amen.

He is with you as well. Can you sense His presence? Can you see His hand?

Pondering life with The Lord and with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random Post-Wedding Thoughts

  1. Brigitt Redman says:

    sweet! thanks for sharing!!

  2. Laura says:

    Welcome to the new normal.
    Though our girls aren’t married – yet – I can empathize with the strangeness of this new state of having an empty house. I hate to ever think of it becoming normal, because normal usually involves not acceptance but a complacency. So it’s a new stage with new challenges and new joys. Welcome.

Leave a Reply

