Not the Best Environment

I have a few plants around my house. Some are in pots, some in the ground, a few fruit trees, a grape vine, a few rose bushes, a lot of palms, a star jasmine, this one cactus type (I think) that just keeps getting bigger. Also, some others that I don’t know their name, but they either look nice or are hearty enough to stand my inconstant care. Anyway, what I like about these plants is that they grow, they change, they produce fruit, flowers, and more leaves. I have this one plant that once I transplanted it to a bigger pot, it just took off. It has those elephant ear looking leaves and some of its roots slither out of the pot into other pots or just creep out down the side of the house. Now I might have just imagined it but I think it tried to trip me the other day.

Anyway, I love to help make these plants grow and change. As you are well aware there are some key factors to plant growing, and you have already probably thought of them; water, soil, sun, and an appropriate environment (like lots of sun or no real direct sun light). Also, nutrients and fertilizers as needed. Applying these key factors in the appropriate dosage plants will grow, and grow and produce. It’s fun to watch and be part of it. To me it’s like watching a miracle right before my eyes. How fun to see fruit pop out or a flower bud. Sure the trimming is a pain every now and then, especially my Bougainvillea, man can that plant grow! And the thorns are a whole lot of fun when it’s time to trim (not really). But I love to watch the change.

Now it does happen that a plant in the wrong environment is caustic. It wilts and dries up and eventually dies. The plant was meant to grow and flourish, but unattended or in the wrong climate it does not reach its full potential or its God ordained purpose. 

We are a lot like plants in that we were created to grow and flourish…

1 Peter 2:2   2 Like newborn babies, crave pure spiritual milk, so that by it you may grow up in your salvation,

2 Peter 3:18  18 But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be glory both now and forever! Amen.

Yet the truth is we can place ourselves in some very caustic environments…like when we sin. Yep I said sin. Sin is not doing the things God has told us to do and doing the very things He has told us not to do. And we all have sinned (read Romans 3:23), now though you may have believed in Jesus and been ‘saved’ from the intimate penalty of sin (read Romans 6:23) we can still sin.

Just a little pause here, if you have never yet believed in Jesus or not sure write me back and I would be happy to send you something you can read to help you.

But this sin stuff is nasty corrosive stuff. In Psalm 38, King David recounts what it’s like to be stuck in the slough of sin.

Psalm 38:4-8  4 My guilt has overwhelmed me like a burden too heavy to bear.  5 My wounds fester and are loathsome because of my sinful folly.  6 I am bowed down and brought very low; all day long I go about mourning.  7 My back is filled with searing pain; there is no health in my body.  8 I am feeble and utterly crushed; I groan in anguish of heart.

Now sure, sin is fun. I mean read the story of the Prodigal Son (Luke 15:11-32). For a long time he was enjoying the sin-high of life, but it ended and so does a life that goes against God’s way. It is eventually filled with anguish, loneliness, hate, bitterness, emptiness, strife…and we all could fill the list from experience.

Quite honestly I did not want to write this today. But compelled by the Lord I am sharing it with you because we don’t have to stay in the foul climate of sin. There is a way out. David said it this way…

Psalm 38:21 – 22  21 O LORD, do not forsake me; be not far from me, O my God.  22 Come quickly to help me, O Lord my Savior. 

It’s crying out to the Lord and confessing our sin.

Psalm 38:18  18 I confess my iniquity; I am troubled by my sin.

 1 John 1:9  9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.

Sin is not the best environment for us. We were designed to live life God’s way.

Romans 6:12  12 Therefore do not let sin reign in your mortal body so that you obey its evil desires.  

Confess it to God and seek to live in line with God’s way. If you struggle with that, get help.

You see, God wants us to experience the best and grow as He created us to grow. Sin messes it all up and causes great pain. My prayer is that we all would continue to seek God’s best environment for life.

Seeking His way with you,

Mike

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

