Initiate Good

I love stories where people with no premeditated thought initiate good.  My son saw a young child bolt from his grandma’s arms and with no realization as to what he was doing, darted out in the street.  Though my son tried to go help, some local high school girls caught the boy before he ran into danger.  These girls initiated good.  My wife witnessed an accident right after our second Easter service and stopped to help.  By the way, I hope your Easter was inspiring, encouraging, and uplifting in your relationship with the Lord…I know it was for me.  What a fun and meaningful Easter we had at Cypress Church.  Oh, and speaking of Easter at Cypress Church…another example of people initiating good; from the kitchen crew laying out a great spread, to the parking crew facilitating the largest crowd we have had on an Easter in the last several years, to the wonderful music and singing in the service, and to all of you who brought your family and friends…all initiating good.

I don’t know if it’s because it was Easter time, or if there is a new epidemic, or if people are just being nicer, but I’m seeing more and more people initiating good.  This is a good thing, especially for us Followers of Christ… forGalatians 6:10tells us…

Galatians 6:10  Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers.

To “have the opportunity” is to take advantage of the occasion to do good when it arises.  If your coworker has been looking a little down the last few days, go buy them a favorite hot beverage or candy bar or flower or cool pen and thank them for their contribution to the company.  Or if you are standing in line at Taco Bell (or whatever food establishment you stand in line for, I seem to find myself at Taco Bell a lot…maybe too much) anyway you are in line, and the person behind the counter is obviously stressed, so initiate some good and smile, say please and thank you as you look them in the eyes.  Maybe you could bring your neighbors cookies (if you do, can I be your neighbor?  I love the homemade chocolate chip ones, mmmmm).  Or maybe slow down a little and take a moment and start off a conversation…like “have you seen any of the royal wedding?”  So take time and make time to do good…to all people.

Jesus told us in Matthew 22:35-40that these ‘all people’ are our neighbors.  Not just the people we live around, but those in need (see Luke’s account of this in Luke 10:25-37and the story of the Good Samaritan…a neighbor is one where we observe to have need).  The key here is to notice. I know for me, I get so busy and rushed, I hardly notice anything.  The other day someone said they saw me and waved and yelled out my name…they said I looked right at them and for the life of me, I don’t recall anything.  I must have been preoccupied with my head spinning with things to do and such…I can get too busy.

So here’s a challenge for you today…why not try to initiate some good and see what happens?  Your little act of kindness may make a huge difference in someone’s life…and maybe even yours.  Look whatGalatians 6:9says…

Galatians 6:9  Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do  not give up.

May the Lord bless you as you seek to initiate good.

Seeking to Initiate Good with you,

Mike

P.S.  If you are an official member of Cypress Church, we have a quick business meeting after each church service this Sunday.  We are voting to affirm some constitutional changes our elders have been working on for the last few years.  All of you have received letters and notices of these changes and have had the opportunity to discuss them at various ‘listening meetings’.  We are now ready to vote.  As your pastor, let me encourage you to take some time before the vote to make sure you have prayed up and are ready to cast what you believe is God’s will for our church in these matters…and please know I am praying for you as well.  Thanks for your important participation in the Lord’s church.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

