He is FOR you and WITH you

It happened many years ago, a few months after we had just moved into the area, and though we were greatly loved, it was easy to feel alone and not that sense of deep connection with others.  Not that people were unwilling, just not that much time to have created history with others.  You know, that awkward feeling when you are in a place where you don’t know the lay of the land and no one really knows you?  Anyway, I was feeling like the ‘new kid,’ and a little disconnected.  Well, in the morning, on the day we were to move into our newly renovated home that we purchased, we had come early to get things set for the wonderful people who were helping us move in and as we opened the door, we noticed something was wrong.  It just did not feel right.  The excitement of the settling into our beautiful home was thrust aside as we noticed the dining room window smashed in and glass all over the floor. The family room door to the back yard had some glass also broken, some items that we had moved in were gone and someone had urinated in a closet.  We could not believe it… we had been robbed!

We called the police and there I sat on the curb now feeling more alone than ever, deflated, defeated, and wondering what I had pulled my family into.  This never had happened to me before.  I felt violated.  The fact that they had urinated in my house, and oh, I forgot to tell you, the outside of the house was toilet papered and they had spelled out a profanity “—- you!” and “go home.”  Wow, what a welcome to the new pastor in town.  Anyway, I sat there in this state of alienation I called one of my new friends Brett, and asked if he would come and just be with me.  See I knew he was for me, because of our contact during the process of our move.

Brett showed up and it made all the difference in the world.  I don’t remember all that he said or what he did, but the reality of him just being there was an incredible comfort. I didn’t feel alone.  Not only did I now sense a connection with someone, but because he was willing to stop what he was doing, most likely sleeping, and come at a moments notice, let me know I was important enough to him and that he was FOR me.  He cared and showed it by taking the time, no, making the time to be there for me.  Brett was for me and with me.

In life, and especially in crisis or chaos, it is a tremendous help to know someone is for you and with you. This all came flying back to my mind this past week as I had my morning devotion time.  I was in Psalm 118 and these verses just popped:

NAS Psalm 118:6 The LORD is for me; I will not fear.  What can man do to me?

 NIV Psalm 118:7 The LORD is with me; He is my helper.  I will look in triumph on my enemies.

See, more than Brett, God was and is with me, and I did know that.  But sometimes it’s all too easy to forget. Yet, does not God say…

 Hebrews 13:5   5 … “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

It’s true, though we feel alone, alienated, or abandoned…or dejected, deserted, or dismayed…God is with you and for you.  No matter what crisis or chaos or catastrophe comes your way, God is for you and with you.  No matter who is against you or antagonizing you or aggressive towards you, God is with you and for you.  Believe it!  It’s true!!

I just felt you needed to hear this truth today.  God is FOR you and WITH you.  Sure, there will be times we forget and need a friend to remind us, but regardless of how we feel, the truth is clear…

God is FOR you and WITH you!

Have a great day knowing you are not alone.  The God of the universe, the Almighty God, the Holy One, the All-Powerful, All-Knowing God of Love is here…lean into Him.

Trusting in the Lord with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to He is FOR you and WITH you

  1. Michaela Doriss says:

    Thanks Mike. That really resonates with me as I am about to embark on a few life changes in the next few months. My current relationship is on its last leg, I am looking for a new home and another job in this ever deflated economy. I have definitely strayed from God in the last decade, but it is beyond nice to hear that he is both with me and for me despite my actions/lack there of – regarding my relationship with Him. Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

