The Adventure of Good…Actions

I was at home a few weeks ago and one of my daughters was getting ready for, you know, one of those special times where you do-it- up; hair just right, just the right clothes (or I believe it’s called an “out-fit”) and make-up. I have watched in amazement what my girls do to primp and paint and such…and wow how beautiful! I mean they were lovely before, but it’s like washing, waxing, and detailing your favorite car…it is a beauty to behold. Anyway, back to my daughter dealing with her personal ‘detailing,’ she was running late and so I kindly reminded her of her closely approaching deadline.

She thanked me, and so I thought it would be good to keep reminding her…like every few minutes. At first she smiled and the said “thank you,” but as I kept at it, I could hear a little annoyance in her voice. Finally, with restraint in her voice, she stopped me in mid-sentence of the 25th kind reminder. She said, “DAD, YOU ARE NOT BEING HELPFUL” and smiled at me and then looked at me with those eyes that are a lot like her mother’s when I start getting a little annoying. You know, those eyes that are like laser beams that start to cut through you and you know that whatever you are doing you better stop NOW or else. So I did (I had been trained that way… being I have had lapses in brain function and have at times used those looks as an open door to being bothersome…and that did not fare so well with me, so I just stop!)

As I apologized for my not-so-helpful actions, it got me thinking about being helpful and that one of my great desires is to be helpful, to lift others burdens, to be supportive and caring, and ready to lend a hand. All over the Bible we are challenged to join this great adventure of doing good.

Psalm 34:14, 37:27 Turn from evil and do good…

Proverbs 3:27 Do not withhold good from those who deserve it, when it is in your power to act.

Luke 6:35 But love your enemies, do good to them, and lend to them without expecting to get anything back. Then your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High, because he is kind to the ungrateful and wicked.

Galatians 6:9-10 9 Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. 10Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers.

1 Timothy 6:18 Command them to do good, to be rich in good deeds, and to be generous and willing to share.

So take just a moment and think about a time you did something helpful. I bet a smile came to your face regardless if it was recognized or not. Being a help, a benefit to others, is pure joy and can be a great adventure in life, and more important, it’s something God wants us to do. Not just to think about it or make plans to someday do it, but actually take some actions and DO.

There are all kinds of ways you can do good; pick up some trash in your neighborhood, take your grocery cart all the way back to the store front, shop locally to benefit your city, take in your neighbors trash cans, buy some Girl Scout cookies and give them away, don’t take the closest parking space, donate food to a food bank, or give away some of the produce from your fruit trees. I bet you can think of many more things. Why not think and pray about just one action you can do today and do it. Yes, I’m serious. Ask the Lord what you could do and go for it.

I would love to hear what God challenged you to do as you enjoy the adventure of good…actions.

Seeking to Do Good with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

