What More Can I Do

I bought some ice cream in the store the other day. Now, if I’m going for Ben & Jerry’s, it’s Phish Food, the frozen yogurt kind. Most of the time I just like a ½ gallon of vanilla (I know, kind of boring), but I love to put pure maple syrup on it or hot fudge or caramel…ok now I really want some ice cream. Anyway, as I was shopping for this delightful dessert, I noticed that it’s not really a ½ gallon/64-oz anymore. It’s more like 56- oz or even 48-oz. Yet the price is the same, and in may cases, even more. In other words, we get less for more cost. I did a little investigative shopping and found the same “less for more” with everything from coffee to crackers to cookies to candy bars. Yep, less chocolate for more money, and we have been seeing over these past few weeks we are getting less automobile gas for way more money!

But it doesn’t stop there. It seems that service in retail stores and restaurants is getting less and less, and yet these establishments are asking for more and more. One of my daughters was in a store the other day needing to get something for the wedding and she was ready and willing to make the purchase, yet no one would help her. She asked numerous people and there were plenty of salespeople on the floor, some even talking with each other. She eventually left with the feeling that the lack of service was not worth it.

It seems that people are operating with a philosophy that says “how little can I do?” As I have talked to managers and supervisors of employees, it seems to be why many people lose their jobs…just do the minimum or as little as possible until you get caught. Wow, what kind of work ethic is that?

Now, there are a great many hard workers out there that give their all and have a philosophy that says “what more can I do?” They want to help, serve, and create a wonderful experience wherever they work, serve, play, or live.

As I thought about this, a Bible verse came to mind…

1 Corinthians 10:31   31 So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of  God.

In other words, does how we live, play, serve, work, do our school work, treat our family and friends, and do our jobs reflect the glory of God? Do the actions of our life reflect or radiate the wonderful traits of our amazing Lord? Ok, that’s a little uncomfortable! Does my life shine out God’s greatness? Not that we are all performance oriented, but really, am I being a reflection of God’s love (1 John 4)? Am I being a servant like Jesus (Mark 10:45)? Am I hard working (Proverbs 6:6)? Am I going the extra mile like the Good Samaritan (Luke 10:30-37)? Am I like the faithful slaves who worked hard to earn their master more (Luke 19:11-26)? Maybe what we should be saying is, “What more can I do to bring God glory?” something to think about.

Oh, one last thing. This weekend on Sunday is when we set our clocks forward one hour. Sorry, we lose an hour of sleep.

Seeking to Bring God Glory with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

