Would You Please Sit Still

As a kid I was constantly asked to sit still. I just could not for the life of me stop moving, fidgeting, or poking the person next to me. I drove some of my teachers crazy. They would say, “Michael, would you please sit still.” I would try for what seemed like hours by gripping my chair and holding my breath. Then I would burst out, “I just can’t,” and would jump up, shake like I got a big chill, and run around the class like I had ants in my pants. That was not acceptable behavior, and I got to take what I thought would be a fun adventure to the office, but the outcome was not pleasurable. Needless to say, I have gotten better at sitting still and channeling my energy into productive activities…well, most of the time.

But even today life gets going so fast that there is hardly time to sit still and gather our thoughts or decompress after a stressful day. Yet, that’s exactly what we need. This morning was just such a morning for me. I was stressing over the numerous projects on my plate right now, and how they are taking up time I would rather be investing in other ministry ventures. As I asked the Lord to speak to me in this time we have together, He directed me to Psalm 46 (if you have your Bible handy pick it up and open to this Psalm and read it – it’s only 11 verses). The opening verses set the tone…

Psalm 46:1-3 NIV God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. 2 Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, 3 though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging.

God, in all His power, in all His might, and in all His sovereignty, is with us. God, the One who spoke the world into being with His words and lovingly crafted each one of us, Who holds the sun in it’s place and causes the moon to rise, Who names each star and knows the number of hairs on our head, Who smiles at the birth of a life and sheds a tear with us for the sorrow of a death, and Whose loving arm surrounds the discarded, the abandoned, the fatherless, and yet is opposed to the proud and the arrogant. Our Amazing, All-powerful, Almighty God is with us and we are not alone. We do not need to fear because God is here.

Yet I find that when I get so wrapped up in the business of life, fidgeting with the list of things to do, and stressed by the ever-approaching deadlines, that I run from activity to activity and forget how amazing, wonderful, beautiful, and great God is. So this morning God in verse 10 said to me, “Mike would you please sit still for a moment.”

Psalm 46:10 NAS “Cease striving and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

I sat there and just let the reality of who God is soak in and I experienced peace. The deadlines are still there, the list of to-dos continues to grow, and my in box of e-mails is ever-expanding, but just viewing a small glimpse of God sets me at ease.

So let me encourage you to sit still for just a moment and focus your attention on all that you know about the truth of God. It could change your perspective for the rest of the day. I know it did for me.

Grace and peace,

Mike

P.S. Coming very soon is an all church focus called “Living God’s Unique Call.” It will be from October 3 to November 14. This campaign will have special Sunday messages, my emails will be complementary, there will be a personal devotion for each of the 49 days, and most importantly is being involved in a Community Life Group (aka small group). So I encourage you to sign up to be in one for this 7 week time. Stop by the CLG counter in the lobby on Sunday to get signed up for a group. More information is on it’s way so be praying God will use this in your life and in our church.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Would You Please Sit Still

  1. Doug Price says:

    Ah, so you were born to be “Captain Amp-out”!!

Leave a Reply

