Noticing God

This past week I had the great privilege to go up to Hume Lake Christian Camp for a few days. I make this trip every year not only to bring care packages to our students, children, and counselors, but to connect with our students and leaders in a special place where I notice God. I’ve been going to Hume since I was in high school, and God has used this place in my life to remind me of how awesome and beautiful and wonderful and incredible He is. 

Romans 1:20  20 For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities– His eternal power and divine nature– have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse.

I smell the Ponderosa Pines (they have kind of a vanilla smell and I love to stick my nose in the bark to breath in that wonderful aroma…yep I smell trees!); and I see the splendor of the giant Sequoia Redwoods, and I notice God’s majesty, power, and creativeness.

At night I look up and the sky explodes with so many stars that it’s breath-taking. Wow, what an amazing God. He knows each one, and they are hand placed by Him. He is so vast and so huge.  It is a glimpse of His glory as they speak of His greatness, strength, magnificence, and splendor. What a truly amazing God we serve!  

Psalm 19:1-2  The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of His hands.  2 Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they display knowledge.

Now what is amazing to me is that as I notice God and dwell on who He is, as I admire His handiwork, as I am reminded of His majesty, splendor, power, greatness and more…my worry dissolves, my stress is released, my joy increases, my confidence grows, and my problems shrink.  A peace rests deep within that is difficult to describe, but it’s like that crisp quiet of a cool mountain morning where the warmth of the early sun brings just the right amount of warmth to make you smile.

When I notice God it changes me. When I notice God it recalibrates me. When I notice God it brings me back to a proper prospective. When I notice God life is different and better. I don’t feel alone and I’m not as fearful.

Let me encourage you to notice God today…and every day. Dwell on who He is, what He has done, and what He has made. Peal open the Bible book of Psalms and read others who have noticed God. Even ask God to reveal more of Himself to you and be looking for what He shows you.

Noticing God with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

