Bringing Life

As I was spending my morning devotional time with the Lord I came across this verse:

 NIV Proverbs 15:4 The tongue that brings healing is a tree of life, but a deceitful tongue crushes the spirit.

The term “tree of life” means source of life. Those whose speech are healing, or another translation says ‘soothing,’ brings life to others. It is to say we should be sensitive to other’s needs, care for them, help them, and walk with them in difficult times. Galatians 6:1 says NIV Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ. When we do these things we are being a ‘tree of life. The opposite is to be ‘deceitful,’ meaning twisted, perverted, upside down in our speech – giving off and projecting those things contrary to God’s will, way, and Word. Like when we degrade another or cut them down (look up Ephesians 2:10, 4:29 and Psalm 139, and note God is not pleased when we speak bad of His workmanship and what He has fearfully and wonderfully made and that includes cutting your self down).

So what got me thinking, or I should say what the Holy Spirit challenged me to consider, is if I am one who brings life to people or saps life out of people. Do people walk away from me built up or torn down? Am I a tree of life or a tree that needs constant attention, draining life right out of others? How would you answer these questions?

I know I was challenged by the Lord to consider how I might improve on my words and actions that I might be a life-giver rather than a life-sapper. Just something to consider as you finish out this week.

Oh, by the way, it’s Father’s Day this Sunday and we have some Dad’s Day fun this Sunday. I hope you can join us.

Grace and Peace,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

