God has just chosen to love us

I flipped on the news the other day and it was the usual natural disasters, catastrophic accidents where no one seems to be doing anything to help, gas prices on the rise, bleak jobs out look, another murder, another near kidnapping, another celebrity scandal…and the litany goes on. It was basically kind of depressing, yet in a strange way almost comforting that there are people out there worse off then us. But the more I dwelt on these current events the darker the cloud of despair loomed. So I flipped off the TV and as I jumped up off the couch, I thanked the Lord that despite the craziness of our world, He is still in control. He is still sovereign. We know this because: 

He does what He pleases…

Psalm 135:6  6 The LORD does whatever pleases Him, in the heavens and on the earth, in the seas and all their depths.

He created everyone and determines the time and place where they live…

Acts 17:26  26 From one man He made every nation of men, that they should inhabit the whole earth; and He determined the times set for them and the exact places where they should live.

And there is much more the Bible has to say about His sovereignty (it could be a fun study for you), but as I was thankful for His control I was reminded of some key truths.

We are God’s. If we have come to the belief that we are sinful and need a Savior, and believe it’s Jesus and have committed to live life His way…we are God’s.

John 10:27  27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.

We are not with out belonging or relationship. We have a God who accepts us for who we are, warts and all, and calls us His own.

We are loved. God loves you and me deeply, and not the “love-if” – if you do what He says, if you act a certain way, if you love first. No, God’s love is a “love in spite of” – in spite of our rebellion and sin, in spite of our issues, in spite of our problems and baggage. 1 Corinthians 13:4-8 gives a picture of this love. I like… 

Jeremiah 31:3   3 The LORD appeared to us in the past, saying: “I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with loving-kindness.

The Hebrew word hesed means loving-kindness. It is a special grace-filled-kind-generous-no-strings-attached kind of love that says there is NOTHING that you can do to earn it, nor do we in any way deserve it. God has just chosen to love us. Wow…let that soak in a bit. The great and awesome and powerful God of the universe loves, really loves, you and me!

Not only do we belong and are loved, but we have purpose…

Jeremiah 29:11   11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

So no matter what goes on in this unpredictable world full of bad news, God has a plan. God will work His will and way even through mistakes we make. Yes, we will get to enjoy the benefits of making good choices, but we also suffer the consequences of making bad choices, because He has given us a free will.

To top it off we are held precious to God…

Psalm 139:1-5  O LORD, you have searched me and you know me.  2 You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar.  3 You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways.  4 Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O LORD.  5 You hem me in– behind and before; you have laid your hand upon me.

We are in the palm of His hand like a child carefully protects and holds a newborn chick. God intimately knows us and values us. He loves the times we spend with Him because He is a loving Father who can’t wait to hear the sound of His children. God loves it when we talk to Him…and He smiles at the mere thought of you.

Let the truth of our loving, sovereign, caring God chase away the dark news of the day and allow you to bask in the light of His grace and love.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God has just chosen to love us

  1. TSB says:

    Hi Mike,

    And if I am to live in his image then I am doing whatever I please, in the heavens and on the earth, in the seas and all their depths. I don’t mean it sarcastically, but with the grace and peace that no longer living in guilt and regret.

    Does that work?

    Love you!

    • Yes we are the image of God regardless of our action; righteous or not. However living righteously – that’s living life God’s way, according to His will and His Biblical guidelines – allows for us to fully experience the life He has created us to live as His image-bearers.

      Does that make sense?

      Love you too!

Leave a Reply

