God Made Us

I love the reality that God has made each of us unique with great and useful abilities, talents, gifts, and passions. We are the handy work of God.

Psalm 139:14   14 I praise You (God) because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Your works are wonderful, I know that full well.

(Yes I did use Psalm 139 in last weeks e-mail, it’s my favorite Bible passage. If you want to go back and read the past e-mail, you can visit my blog at https://messagefrommike.wordpress.com/.  We will be posting each email, plus other helpful information, so check it out.)

Ephesians 2:10  10 For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

The God of the Universe, Almighty, All-Knowing, All-Powerful God took the time to create and hand-craft each one of us! We are more intricately designed than a Swiss watch, better engineered than a German automobile, and more valuable to the Lord than any precious metals. Yep, you got it, we are something special!! We are the “apple of God’s eye”. As Psalm 17:8 suggests (and may I remind you, as I remind myself) God does not make mistakes nor does He make junk, so let that soak in a bit. You and I are prized, valued, beloved, treasured people to our God.

The way God feels about us is not based on our actions (good or bad), or our abilities, or accomplishments, or how many friends we have, or how involved we are at church, or how close we feel to Him, or how well off we are, or where we are in social status. I think you get the picture. God has chosen to love us.

Jeremiah 31:3  3 The LORD appeared to us in the past, saying: “I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with loving-kindness.

Here again is another verse I go back to often because it says it so clear. God is saying I LOVE YOU!! In the Greek translation of the Hebrew Bible the word love here in Jeremiah is not a friendship love, or a love between a man and a woman, but a love that is a choice to act a certain way towards another. The same kind of love described in 1 Corinthians 13 (read this chapter and know its how God has chosen to love you and me, that’s truly amazing).

God created us and powers us up with His great love “to do good works” as Ephesians 2:10 says. Now these good works are not just being involved in ministry and working in and around church, but it is learning and developing the gifts, talents, abilities, passions, and things we do good at to the glory of God. So if God has given you the talents to be a teacher, sales person, office assistant, firefighter, letter carrier, artist, work-at-home mom/dad, nurse, counselor, engineer, manager, and list goes on…perfect those talents, striving for excellence and be the best ‘you’ God created you to be. It does not mean you should be best in comparison to others, but showing diligence, hard work, and effort. And as you perfect your craft, people will be drawn to God because of your ‘good work.’

God made us each unique, using our unique abilities in our unique field, doing those good works with our unique style that reflects our unique God who loves us uniquely. God is amazing, uniquely amazing… 

Amazing love! How can it be, That Thou, my God, shouldst die for me?” (words from an old Hymn written by Charles Wesley “And Can It Be That I Should Gain?”).

Hope to see you this Sunday…I’m looking forward to sharing the Word of God with you,

Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God Made Us

  1. Tina McKay says:

    Hey Uncle/Pastor Mike just heard from Andre about your awesome Blog and having been going through them. Please help me to pray for Andre and my best friend Rachel Hammer to get to know God and Jesus. I just emailed her this particular blog entry of yours because it was being told by my friend Colleen Sweeney during my college years that helped me to be hungry and thirsty again for Christ. That no matter what he loves us. That he loves us just the way we are sinners and all. Her sharing those words with me about how much he loves us truly transformed my life, and continues to do so. Thank you for writing this and being the uniquely awesome person you are – preacher/pastor, Uncle, Father, Husband, Son.

  2. So true Tina…no matter what God loves us…
    Romans 8:35 – 38 35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? 36 As it is written: “For your sake we face death all day long; we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.” 37 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. 38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

    And yes I will continue to pray for Andre and pray for Rachel

Leave a Reply

